Fairport Village Hall The timeless sentinel of South Main Street. Fairport Municipal Building circa 1908. Fairport Municipal Building circa 1933. The Village Hall, or Municipal Building, was built in 1906 as Perinton's Town Hall at a cost of approximately $20,000. Town offices were on the first floor, the jail was in the basement, and the village leased space on the second floor. Also on the second floor was an auditorium used for public meetings and movies. After being sold to the village in 1931, the interior of the building was renovated, two palladian arches over the second floor windows were removed, and the tower was replaced. An addition was constructed for a new jail and a firehouse. Since the early 1980's, the Fairport Police Department has occupied the first floor of the addition, and village offices the remainder of the building.