As early as 1871, pioneer Swedish settlers near Union Hill (4 mi. S), also known as the Brushy area, were holding Methodist worship services in homes. In 1882 they formally organized as a Swedish Methodist Episcopal church. The congregation moved to this site in 1906, when the present native stone sanctuary was completed. The name St. John's was adopted in 1939, and regular Swedish language services ended in the 1940s. Church programs, however, continue to reflect the ideals, traditions and rich heritage of the pioneer founders.