The Broad Street Market consists of the oldest continuously operated market houses in the United States. By the advent of the Civil War, Harrisburg began to develop north of North Street onto the newly subdivided lands of William Verbeke, John Forster and John Fox. This growth generated the demand for a new farmers market, in addition to the original markets situated in the middle of Market Square since the end of the 18th Century. Thus was formed The West Harrisburg Market Company which in 1850 erected this stone market house at the head of Broad Street, or Verbeke Street, along the emerging artery of N. Third Street. From this intersection would rise a thriving business district anchored by the Broad Street Market. As growth intensified, a brick market, situated to the rear of the original stone market and designed with Palladium windows and clerestory roof treatment, was constructed in 1874 and expanded from west to east in 1877 and 1885 respectively. Originally, the market's setting was similar to the elongated Market Square with buildings facing on all sides tapering to Broad Street which continued onward to the east. Still as vibrant as ever, with both buildings having been thoroughly restored by the City, and accent lighting, banners and central plaza added, the market remains hallmarked by the traditional offerings of fresh produce, poultry and meats supplied by area farmers and the "Pennsylvania Dutch."
1900 postcard view of the stone market house.
C. 1890 view of brick market house from Fulton Street looking west.
Frame shed addition to stone market house in 1975 just prior to its demolition for central plaza area improvements.