Historical Marker Search

You searched for Postal Code: 92110

Showing results 1 to 10 of 28
See individual photos for text
1829   Large adobe-block townhouse buiilt by José Antonio Etudillo. Included servants' quarter, work and storage rooms, living and dining rooms, and Roman Catholic chapel. 1884   Helen Hunt Jackson's Ramona published, linking the casa …
Dedicated to Lt. George H. Derby U.S.A 1823 — 1861 Humorist, Engineer, and Builder of the first dike to safeguard San Diego Bay as a navigable harbor. San Diego Chapter D.A.R. San Diego Chapter S.A.R. Nov. 3, 1962
1847    First fire-brick structure in San Diego. Constructed by Mormon Battalion. 1849   Headquarters of the U.S. Boundary Commission 1850   Served as courthouse, church, school, and polling place over next two decades. 1872   Destroyed…
The Casa de Aguirre, like many of Old Town's original buildings, was constructed of adobe. Adobe bricks, flooring, roof tiles, and other materials were made locally by combining clay, sand, water and straw and pouring this mixture into wooden form…
Originally built as the St. Joseph's Rectory at the corner of Fourth Avenue and Beech Street downtown, this building was moved through the streets of San Diego to this site in 1940. Here, it was used by the Catholic Church as a seminary, convent, …
The stone pilings seen in this archaeological excavation unit are part of the original foundation of the Casa de Aguirre built circa 1853. The original adobe mansion extended ten feet to the east of where the current building ends. The 21st centur…
On this hill July 16, 1769, Padre Junipero Serra and the soldiers of Spain set the royal standard raised the cross and dedicated the Mission San Diego de Alcala
Lloyd T. Lowrey was a parks designer and landscape architect. he was a designer of the Blue Ridge Parkway, which connects the Shenandoah National Park in Virginia to the great Smoky Mountains National Park in North Carolina, and Director of San Di…
Settled by pensioned soldiers from the presidio and their families, Old Town grew into a cluster of adobe houses and garden plots in the early 1800s. By 1835, "it was composed of about 40 dark brown looking huts." The Stars and Stripes were first …