Historical Marker Search

You searched for City|State|Country: , tx us

Showing results 1 to 10 of 10
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1WBP_the-j-w-carter-family-and-the-7-up-ranch-historical_Dimmitt-TX.html
The first permanent settlers in Castro County, the James W. Carter family moved to this area in 1884. A tent and dugout served as home until a house was constructed (100 yds. W). Their cattle, which they brought with them, were marked with the 7-U…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1VS4_quanah-parker-trail-historical_Dimmitt-TX.html
Comanches used Running Water & Frio Draws in this area as trailways for hunting & trade with Comancheros Arrow Sculptor: Charles A Smith
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1PP8_holy-family-cemetery_Nazareth-TX.html
In 1902, Joseph Reisdorff, pastor and colonizer of Nazareth, devoted land donated by Wilhelmina Thier to be Holy Family Cemetery. First interment was the body of Anna Lackerman in August 1906. Reflecting Nazareth's heritage, nine early tombstones …
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1POT_gilbreath-cowsert-house_Dimmitt-TX.html
Tennessee native Jeff T. Gilbreath moved his family to this area in 1905. The owner of a local mercantile store, he built this house in 1909. He sold it in 1910 to county attorney Mark Cowsert, whose family lived here until 1912. The house changed…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1POS_castro-county-courthouses_Dimmitt-TX.html
This site was set aside as the Dimmitt town square in 1891, the year Castro County was formally organized. Temporary court facilities were set up in J. N. Morrison's office while the first courthouse was built. An ornate two-story structure, it bu…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1POR_shoot-out-on-jones-street_Dimmitt-TX.html
At an 1891 meeting to discuss the selection of a Castro County seat, words were exchanged between Ira Aten, a retired Texas Ranger speaking on behalf of Castro City, and Andrew McClelland, a spokesman for Dimmitt. The inflammatory remarks led to a…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1POQ_summerfield-dameron-corner_Nazareth-TX.html
In 1876, English native John Summerfield (1885-1918) began his work locating and surveying millions of acres of land in present-day Randall, Deaf Smith, Castro and Swisher counties. One of the earth monuments he erected that year was located near …
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1POP_home-mercantile_Nazareth-TX.html
For 90 years, starting in 1905, Nazareth residents purchased goods here. The original wood-framed structure, built by Fred Heidgerken with living quarters above, opened its main floor to home shopping needs and the storing and selling of fresh mea…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1POO_holy-family-catholic-church_Nazareth-TX.html
The history of Holy Family Catholic Church parallels that of the town of Nazareth. The families of brothers V. A., J. A. and T. P. McCormick and other Irish families came to this area from New York in the early 1890s. The Rev. Joseph Reisdorff arr…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1MEM_prisoner-of-war-camp-chapel_Hereford-TX.html
Near this site during World War II the Hereford Military Reservation and Reception Center, a prisoner of war camp, was established. During nearly three years of operation, approximately 7000 Italian soldiers were imprisoned. Through their work on …
PAGE 1 OF 1