Historical Marker Search

You searched for City|State: youngstown, ny

Showing results 1 to 10 of 29
La Belle Famille At this battle British troops and native allies defeated French forces sealing Ft. Niagara's surrender July 24, 1759
Erected to the memory of unknown soldiers and sailors of the United States, killed in action, or dying of wounds, in this vicinity during the War of 1812.
To the memory of unknown officers and enlisted men who participated in the early Indian wars in this frontier and in the Revolutionary War, whose remains are interred in this cemetery.
Built 1849 by Reuben H. & Maria Barton Broughton. R.H. Broughton served as state assemblyman - 1837. Town Supervisor - 1856. In 1857, it was purchased by Silas Hopkins, first judge of Niagara County and was named Grand View. Grand View was maintai…
Field of La Belle Famille — · — Where on July 24, 1759, French forces of Capt. Francois Le Marchand De Lignery and Capt. Charles Aubry, with Indian allies, hastening to the relief of Fort Niagara, were defeated by British and In…
Betsy Doyle Heroine of Fort Niagara carried shot to cannon, stood sentry duty, fled 310 miles to Greenbush, NY when enemy attacked fort in 1813.
This property has been placed on the National Register of Historic Places by the United States Department of the Interior
British forces under Brig. Gen John Prideaux and Sir William Johnson landed at mouth of 4 mile creek, July 6, 1759. Besieged Fort Niagara.
A general store, built in 1808 by John Young, after whom the village was named. Known as the Red Store.
Famous 50 room hotel for lodging and entertainment. Built by F. Steele 1891.