Historical Marker Series

Maryland: Washington County Historical Advisory Committee

Showing results 1 to 10 of 25
www.historicalmarkerproject.com/markers/HMMT_booths-mill-bridge_Boonsboro-MD.html
Built in 1833 by Charles Wilson for $2,700, this three-archer over Antietam Creek has spans of 45', 43' and 45'. It replaced a wooden bridge near the site of a powder mill. Also known as the Delamere Bridge, it is near the pillared mansion "Delamere" which …
www.historicalmarkerproject.com/markers/HMN8_gettysburg-campaign_Smithsburg-MD.html
On the afternoon of July 5th, 1863, Federal cavalry defended Smithsburg from attack by General J.E.B. Stuart's Confederate cavalry, as the rebel retreat from Gettysburg began. At dark, U.S. General Judson Kilpatrick's cavalry withdrew to Boonsboro, and Stua…
www.historicalmarkerproject.com/markers/HMND_hesss-mill-bridge_Keedysville-MD.html
This two-arch bridge was built by John Weaver in 1832. It is unique in that one arch is so much larger than the other. The smaller arch may have accommodated the millrace which was located on that side of the Little Antietam and served the mill that was ere…
www.historicalmarkerproject.com/markers/HMNE_prys-mill-bridge_Keedysville-MD.html
This two-arch bridge was built over the Little Antietam Creek by George Burgan for $1,650 in 1858. Its cutwaters, the upstream pier bulwarks designed to divide the current and break up ice flows and log jams, are unique in that they are shaped like the prow…
www.historicalmarkerproject.com/markers/HMNJ_funkstown-bridge-no-2_Hagerstown-MD.html
This bridge over Antietam Creek at Funkstown was built in 1833 by George Weaver for $1,800. At this site was Shafer's Mill where flour was ground. The most notable feature of this bridge is the graduated size of its three arches, growing larger from the eas…
www.historicalmarkerproject.com/markers/HM1II_hitt-bridge_Keedysville-MD.html
This three-arch span with its unusually high center arch was built in 1830 over a ford in the Antietam Creek that was used by Braddock's army in 1755. Samuel Hitt was instrumental in financing this bridge, which was built by Silas Harry, as agent for John W…
www.historicalmarkerproject.com/markers/HM1IJ_pry-mill_Keedysville-MD.html
The 20.25 acre property on Little Antietam Creek was bequeathed to Samuel Merritt Hitt by Robert Smith on October 28, 1818. A two-story, two-section grist and sawmill was constructed about 1820 by Hitt, who diverted the established road so traffic would pas…
www.historicalmarkerproject.com/markers/HM1IM_middle-bridge_Keedysville-MD.html
This is the location of the famous "Middle Bridge," one of three bridges involved with the Battle of Antietam, September 17, 1862. The upper (Hitt) bridge and lower (Burnside) bridge are still standing. This three-arch stone bridge was destroyed by flooding…
www.historicalmarkerproject.com/markers/HM1IN_antietam-iron-works-bridge_Sharpsburg-MD.html
This four-arch stone bridge spanning the Antietam Creek was built in 1832 by John Weaver. It is located at the site of a large ironworks complex, first known as the Frederick Forge and later as the Antietam Iron Works which operated intermittently from 1763…
www.historicalmarkerproject.com/markers/HM2PY_felfoot-bridge_Keedysville-MD.html
Built in 1854 by George Burgan for $1,550, this bridge spans Little Antietam Creek and stands on "Felfoot" a tract of land originally surveyed in 1734 and patented to Thomas Swearingen in 1737. An unusual feature of this bridge is the squared pilasters used…
PAGE 1 OF 3