Historical Marker Search

You searched for State: ms

Showing results 1 to 10 of 1721
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM289N_the-civil-rights-church_Hattiesburg-MS.html
On this site stood the old Mount Zion Baptist Church, demolished in 1993. Known locally as "The Cvil Rights Church", the church hosted a "Freedom School" in 1964 and many mass meetings during the Civil Rights Movement. Dr. Martin Luthe…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM2891_hi-hat-club_Hattiesburg-MS.html
Side A The Hi-Hat Club, which was built at this site in the 1950s, was once an important stop on the "chitlin circuit" for African American blues and soul performers. B. B. King, James Brown, Otis Redding, Ike & Tina Turner, and many ot…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM288S_st-paul-methodist-church_Hattiesburg-MS.html
Organized in 1882 in a wood frame structure on the present site. In 1926, the original building was damaged in a storm. The present structure was built in 1930. The congregation provided food and shelter for Hattiesburg's flood victims in 1963 and…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM288R_eureka-school_Hattiesburg-MS.html
This building, opened in 1921, under the leadership of W.H. Jones, was one of the first modern brick schools in Miss. for blacks. Its alumni have served the state and nation with distinction.
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM288D_roberts-schoolhouse_Hattiesburg-MS.html
This schoolhouse was established in the Arena community of Jackson County by Richard Roberts in the 1890s. Serving grades one through twelve, the curriculum consisted of reading, writing and arlthmetic. The Roberts Schoolhouse closed its do…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM288B_the-hub-where-buffett-met-fingers_Hattiesburg-MS.html
The Hub has been just that, the center of campus and campus life, since its construction as the Dining Hall in 1930. By the 1960s, it housed the bookstore, post office, and coffee shop and grill known as Wimpy''s and later Exit 13. Aspiring musi…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM2874_demonstration-school_Hattiesburg-MS.html
The Mississippi Normal College, now the University of Southern Mississippi, was established in 1910. The Demonstration School opened in 1926 during the time when the college was called the State Teachers College (1924-1940). The school taugh…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM2873_roots-of-rock-and-roll_Hattiesburg-MS.html
Side ARock and roll is rooted in the blues of Mississippi. The Mississippi Jook Band (brothers Roosevelt and Uaroy Graves and pianist Cooney Vaughan) earned a niche in the annals of rock after they recorded in Hattiesburg in 1936, nearly two decad…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM2872_east-6th-street-uso-club_Hattiesburg-MS.html
The East 6th Street USO Club was built in early 1942 under the umbrella of the United Services Organization (USO). This T-shaped, wood-frame building included an auditorium, stage, lobby, restrooms, dressing rooms, and meeting rooms. Built f…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM286R_biloxi-public-library-1925_Biloxi-MS.html
This Library erected A.D. 1925 on land donated by Biloxi Circle of The King's Daughters City Commissioners J.J. Kennedy - Mayor M.R. Michel J.A. Swanzy Library Board E.L. Dukate - Chairman Mrs. H.W. Van Hook * Rev. John Campbell Mrs.…
PAGE 1 OF 173