Historical Marker Search

You searched for State: ca

Showing results 1 to 10 of 6199
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM26R3_jacob-markley_Markleeville-CA.html
On September 12, 1861, Jacob Markley staked out a land claim of 160 acres, a parcel that included this site. Markley erected a 16 by 20 foot log cabin somewhere near this plaque, covering it with shakes made from local Sugar Pine. He also built a …
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM26R1_hangmans-bridge-vigilante-justice_Markleeville-CA.html
On December 18, 1872, Ernst Reusch, a jealous husband shot and killed E.H. Erickson through the window of  Erickson's Saloon in Silver Mountain City as Erickson played cards. Reusch believed that Erickson had been having an affair with his wife a…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM26PR_the-lost-whiskey-of-raymond_Markleeville-CA.html
The Raymond Mining District was in operation from 1863 - 1869. It was located roughly four miles north of Silver Mountain and four miles south-west of Markleeville, along Krumm Creek entering Pleasant Valley. Named for R. W. Raymond, who surveyed …
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM26PD_the-old-broadway-jail_San-Francisco-CA.html
Constructed at the foot of Telegraph Hill in 1851, the Old Broadway Jail was San Francisco's first real prison, a three-story brick fortress consisting of 60 cells that could house up to 200 prisoners. In 1856, the jail saw hundreds of members of …
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM26P3_coso-rock-art-district_CA.html
This District possesses national significance in commemorating the history of the United States Of America. The Coso Rock Art District contains the largest concentration of unaltered prehistoric petroglyphs and associated sites in North Americ…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM26O5_finnochios_San-Francisco-CA.html
"Welcome to the world-famous Finocchio's, where the most beautiful women onstage are men." Opened in 1936, Finocchio's cabaret featured female impersonators, both gay and straight, performing in, elaborateshows that drew in sailors and tourists al…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM26NT_jagel-slough_Sunnyvale-CA.html
One mile north-west of this plaque lies Jagel Slough, named for the Jagel Family, who were hay and grain farmers in the area. It is believed Ozymandias P. Jagel, who settled here (1859), set up a still to carry on an illegal liquor business. He pe…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM26NF_monas-440-club_San-Francisco-CA.html
Originally opened in 1934, Mona's Club moved to 440 Broadway in 1939 and is credited with being San Francisco's first openly lesbian club. The venue featured female entertainers dressed as men, an inverse to the transgender theme of nearby Finocch…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM26MH_st-francis-dam-disaster_Santa-Paula-CA.html
To honor victims of the St. Francis Dam Disaster, March 12, 1928. This monument of native stone was placed in respectful memory of the nameless souls whose unmarked graves rest in this hallowed ground.
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM26MB_dominic-paul-dimaggio_San-Francisco-CA.html
This is the site of the original Dimaggios' Restaurant founded by the five DiMaggio brothers in 1937. Tom, the oldest of the 9 children of Sicilian immigrant parents, ran it until the youngest, Dominic Paul DiMaggio, took on the responsibilities i…
PAGE 1 OF 620