Historical Marker Search

You searched for State: az

Page 113 of 123 — Showing results 1121 to 1130 of 1227
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HMHQO_e-n-fish-co-store_Florence-AZ.html
Built in 1874 of unplastered adobe with pitched roofs, this second Edward Nye Fish mercantile store in Florence changed hands to become the, Joseph Collingwood & Co. Store and Wells Fargo office in 1877. Collingwood, Florence's first postmaster, h…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HMHQL_george-brockway-house_Florence-AZ.html
This Colonial Revival adobe was the home of George Brockway and his wife Esther. Brockway was the town medical doctor, Pinal County Hospital Superintendent and Territorial Prison physician. He owned a drugstore, and in 1908 became the first mayor …
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HMHQJ_george-a-brown-house_Florence-AZ.html
This was originally a flat-roofed Sonoran adobe built in 1875 for George A. Brown, Adamsville saloon keeper. The house served briefly as the Wells Fargo office during a rash of stagecoach robberies. "By God" Brown known for his oft-repeated phrase…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HMHQI_levi-ruggles-founder-of-florence_Florence-AZ.html
Civil War veteran Levi Ruggles came to Arizona Territory in 1866 as a U.S. Indian Agent. Recognizing the agricultural potential of this valley, he found an easily fordable crossing on the Gila River and surveyed a townsite here. He called the vill…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HMHQH_e-n-fish-co-store_Florence-AZ.html
Edward Nye Fish, prominent Tucson merchant, and his partner/manager Joseph Collingwood, first Florence postmaster, opened Florence's first store in this building in 1868. Building additions from 1867 to 1888 formed a U-shaped complex, and porti…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HMHQ0_la-capilla-del-gila_Florence-AZ.html
This first Catholic Church in central Arizona, built in 1870 by Father Andre Echallier, was called "La Capilla del Gila". In 1883 a larger edifice commemorating the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary, was constructed to the west: a convent was …
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HMHPY_assumption-of-the-blessed-virgin-mary-catholic-church_Florence-AZ.html
Completed in 1912, the Church of The Assumption is an example of the Mission Revival style of architecture. The third church built for Assumption Parish, it replaced the second church built on this site in 1884, which burned down in 1893. This chu…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HMHPU_jesus-martinez-house_Florence-AZ.html
Jesus Martinez, a farmer from New Mexico, began construction on this adobe house in 1872. Completed in 1880, the U-shaped building had a traditional Sonoran flat dirt roof and central patio enclosed on three sides. By 1890 the house was divided fo…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HMHPT_conrad-brunenkant-building_Florence-AZ.html
This two-story red-brick commercial building was constructed in 1890 for Conrad Brunenkant. The bricks were locally made, and the rock-faced cut lintels and sills are from locally quarried stone. The exterior was altered in 1973 when the porch wit…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HMHPK_tom-mix-tony-jr_Coolidge-AZ.html
This is the original Tony, Jr. that was used for the memorial to Tom Mix which was dedicated on December 5, 1947, south of Florence.The silhouette was designed by Fernando Arriola. This Tony, Jr. was stolen and missing for two years. The re-dedica…
PAGE 113 OF 123