You searched for Postal Code: 95959
Page 5 of 7 — Showing results 41 to 50 of 66
The year was 1850 at a location not far from here. The first Masonic Lodge meeting was held under a Charter from state of Wisconsin. Lafayette Lodge #29 was born, the years following in 1851 & 1863 a major part of which was to be known as Nevada C…
After constructing a second-story meeting hall above two existing 19th century commercial buildings, the Nevada City Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks #518 dedicated its first lodge at this location on June 14, 1913. The lodge hall and stree…
Nevada Hose Co. No. 1 occupied this firehouse from May 30, 1861 to 1938. Hand pulled hose carts, horse drawn engines and motorized pumpers all rolled out of this building to save life and property.
The first school building on this site was moved from Flume Street in 1869. It burned in 1924, and this building was moved here from Lake Vera. This site operated as a school from 1869 until 1984.
It is currently used as a community center and …
Used to crush gold ore at the Fortuna Mine near Nevada City. Ore fed under iron 'stamps' from rear hopper. Steam, water or electric belt-driven power turned wheel which revolved cams. Donated to Nevada City by Bill Magers. Dedicated July 4, 1982 b…
In continuous use PG&E Drum Power House No. 4, 1928-1987. Produced 18,000 HP at 257 RPM and enough electrical power for 16,000 households. 12 ft. diameter, weight 15 tons. Built in San Francisco by Pelton Company. A constitutional bicentennial gif…
Nevada City Commemorative Marker #6ROBINSON PLAZA Named for Beryl P. Robinson, Jr.
Born in Nevada City September 13, 1935
City Councilman-City Manager
On July 1, 1999, Beryl Robinson Jr. became the longest-serving city manager in state…
Historic Old Brick Gothic Building constructed as a congregational church in 1857. Restored by First Baptist Church. Dedicated by Laurel Parlor No. 6 Native Daughters of the Golden West April 13, 1987
Historic Saint Canice Catholic Church was built and first services held during 1864 under the guidance of Father John GrifinPlaque placed October 6, 1965 by Laurel Parlor No. 6 and Hydraulic Parlor No. 56 Native Daughters and Sons of the Golden West
This boulder was known to the pioneers as the Indian Medicine Stone. On its top are hollows in which the Indians lay while taking sun baths to cure their ills. One branch of the Emigrant Trail leading from Truckee Pass to the gold mines of Nevada …