Historical Marker Search

You searched for Postal Code: 95959

Page 3 of 7 — Showing results 21 to 30 of 66
Memorial GroveThis plot of land set aside by the City of Nevada. These trees living tributes to our war dead. This plaque and flagpole erected by the citizens of Nevada City dedicated July 4, 1946 to the memory of our heroes who gave their live…
The first hydraulic mining originated on American Hill near Nevada City, California in 1853. This miners giant known as The Monitor washed hillsides away under high pressure uncovering gold bearing gravel beds. This mining technique flourished pro…
HistoricNevada City Methodist ChurchDedicated in 1864Now one of the oldestexisting churches
Library Association formed December 19, 1857, first library was in Kidd Knox Bldg. 228 Broad St., it was moved to Oustomah Lodge I.O.O.F. No. 16, June 3, 1874. Nevada City Trustees assumed responsibilities Oct. 1, 1902 and was moved into the Corco…
Used at You Bet-Red Dog Diggin's east of Nevada City periodically 1880-1935 to control water flow from Chalk Bluff Reservoir to the mine. Hydraulic nozzle mounted opposite was operated at that mine by Thomas B. Brady (1874-1964).***** Manufactured…
This building, completed December, 1872, was the law office for three generations of this family. Niles Searls, who arrived in 1851, practiced law here from 1872 to 1885. He had been elected District Attorney in 1855, then District Judge for Nevad…
Originally the Bicknell Block, stagecoach, mail, express and telegraph center in mining days. Companies which became Pacific Gas & Electric formed here. Site of the first whipping post in state. Fa?ade unchanged since 1854.
Exact replica of wife's Ante-Bellum Colonial birthplace. Only edifice of this type in California. Stewart, an early Nevada County District Attorney, joined 1859 Comstock silver rush. Led battle for statehood and became Nevada's first U.S. Senat…
Built in 1853First Brick Building Erected in this city Dedicated To the memory of the pioneers of Nevada City
Nevada County organized out of Yuba County May 18, 1851. Wooden court house and log jail built on Broad Street 1851. The first court house on this site was erected in 1856. The building was damaged by fire in July of the same year and rebuilt. Des…