You searched for Postal Code: 95959
Page 2 of 7 — Showing results 11 to 20 of 66
The Native PeopleThe cultural history of people inhabiting the western slope of the Sierras spans a period of at least 3,500 years. It is known that the Nisenan, a Native California tribe, occupied the geographic region between the Sierra Buttes, …
Californian, Clamper, Nevada County historian, newspaperman, friend and founding father of the Malakoff State Park in whose memory these benches were placed.
In 1850, the year after the fabulous gold strike on Deer Creek in Nevada City, the Overland Emigrant Trail branched off the original Bear River route at Bear Valley, climbed Washington Ridge and passed this point on its way to Nevada City and Sacr…
Washington, originally Indiana Boys Camp, is a town that refused to ghost. It was settled in 1849. By 1880 miners had recovered over $10,500,000 in gold here.
The town of Ormonde was established here in 1887. Downstream, across the mouth of Canyon Creek was Canyonville 1850, and upriver approximately 4 miles was Maybert 1886. These towns were part of the Upper Washington Mining District and were the fur…
Local historians relate that water from high mountain lakes flowed thru a 500' wooden ?chute' which led to a huge square tank or pressure box behind Campsite 29. Here it entered a 3' pipe reduced to gain pressure to 2', then down hill 200' to the …
St. Columncille's Catholic Church, formerly the Bridgeport Union Guard Hall, was used in 1860 to train men for the Civil War under Capt. Frank Coffey of French Corral.
In 1880 it was purchased as a house of worship for the Catholics of the ridg…
Built at a cost of some 3,000 dollars, modeled after schoolhouses at nearby Sebastopol and Sweetland, it served the community until closed in 1941. Acquired from Washington School District, Nevada County, for public use and display. Restoration co…
One of the great engineering feats in Nevada County hydraulic mining history was the drilling of the 7,874 foot drain tunnel, nearly 200 feet below you.
This project was engineered by Hamilton Smith.
Eight vertical shafts of up to 200 feet …
First cabin built 1853Pop. 340 in 1857On this spot stood the livery stable of Bridget Waldon