You searched for Postal Code: 83464
Showing results 1 to 10 of 16
This marker consists of three panels: one map and two historical. Before the Roads
Native Americans were the first to travel over this rugged country. Most of the year they spent traveling from place to place to find …
This traditional Indian route provided access from Montana's buffalo country to Snake and Salmon river fishing streams.
Hudson's Bay Company trapping expeditions came this way after 1822 and prosectors followed searching for mines. Then in 1877,…
Massacred by Nez Perce
Al Green Jim Hayden
Dan Coombs +Two Others
Sheehan's Dubois Lions
Lack of a good transportation system delayed serious lead and silver mining at Gilmore from 1880 to 1910.
Construction of a branch railroad from Montana to serve this mining area resulted in a production of $11,520,852 before a power plant exp…
A side road from Highway 28 leads to Nicholia Townsite and the Viola Mine. Parts of these sites are on private land. Please be especially respectful of private owners rights and wishes.
The Nicholia Ranch is on the site of Nicholia, once home t…
During the two years the 16 kilns were in operation, 150,000 cords of wood (about 15,000 loads of today's logging trucks) were made into charcoal. A supply of 6,000 cords of wood was kept on hand at all times. Some can still be seen lying on the g…
Once wood was stacked as high as possible from the front door, loading continued through an opening in the back of the kiln. Wooden ramps that once led up to these doors disappeared long ago.
Bricks for the kilns were made from a very light clay and lime, which probably came from deposits in Jump Creek. The lime was burned in nearby kilns and mixed with clay to produce a tough lightweight brick. Though wages were only $1.50-$2.00 a day…
These kilns are the only remaining evidence of important historic events, and efforts have been made to preserve them. Steel pipes support on roof that was bout to collapse and gates have been erected to keep out stock.
These structures are a fr…
These are three of the four charcoal kilns that remain of the original sixteen that were once located here. These beehive shaped kilns were constructed of brick and designed to stand 20 feet in both height and diameter. The walls were plastered in…