Historical Marker Search

You searched for Postal Code: 76301

Showing results 1 to 10 of 11
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1TPY_the-wichita-falls-bank-robbery-of-1896-historical_Wichita-Falls-TX.html
On the afternoon of February 25, 1896, two cowboys, Foster Crawford and Elmer "Kid" Lewis, robbed the City National Bank, then located at Ohio and 7th Street (2 blocks east). They killed cashier Frank Dorsey, took about $410 cash, and fled on hors…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1TPR_first-county-officials-historical_Wichita-Falls-TX.html
First Anglo-Americans settled in Wichita County in 1856. The county was named for Indians, and Indian troubles delayed local organization until 1882. The first officials were: Judge, James S. Akers; Attorney, Robert E. Huff; Sheriff, F.M. Davis; C…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1TPQ_texas-governor-james-v-allred-historical_Wichita-Falls-TX.html
From this courthouse, James V. Allred began his career that led to highest state office. As lawyer with firm of O'Neal and Martin, he won elections as district attorney in 1923 and Attorney General of Texas, 1931. Governor from 1935 to 1939, he co…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1TPP_joseph-hudson-barwise-historical_Wichita-Falls-TX.html
A native of Ohio, Joseph Hudson Barwise brought his family to Texas in 1877 and to Wichita County in 1880. An astute businessman and community leader, he earned the nickname "Father of Wichita Falls" after he donated land to the Fort Worth and Den…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1TPG_henry-c-luecke-historical_Wichita-Falls-TX.html
A native of Missouri, Henry C. Luecke (1861-1937) came to Texas about 1890. He opened a blacksmith shop at this intersection in 1903. Here he developed and manufactured the Wichita Gang Plow, patented in 1905. His device was similar to other plows…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1TPF_george-alonzo-soule-historical_Wichita-Falls-TX.html
Before coming to Wichita Falls George Alonzo Soule (1840-1913) owned a freight and stage line in Jacksboro and Fort Griffin. After the Fort Worth and Denver Railroad came through here, Soule brought his wife Lilla and Family in 1883. He opened a s…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1TPE_site-of-st-james-hotel-historical_Wichita-Falls-TX.html
Joseph Alexander Kemp (1861-1930), a Wichita Falls merchant, and Morris Lasker (1840-1916), a native of Prussia who later served as state senator from Galveston, formed a partnership in 1892 for the construction of a hotel at this site. Built by M…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1TPD_j-a-kemp-wholesale-grocery-building-historical_Wichita-Falls-TX.html
Built in 1892, this structure housed the J. A. Kemp Wholesale Grocery business for 35 years. The building originally measured 50 by 100 feet and contained a full basement. A two-story brick addition was completed by 1901. The Industrial Supply Com…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1TPC_the-zale-legacy-historical_Wichita-Falls-TX.html
In the early 20th Century, the Wichita Falls oil boom attracted several immigrant Russian Jewish families seeking a better life. One such immigrant to the town, Morris Bernard Zalefsky (1901 - 1995), began to learn the jewelry trade from his uncle…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1TPB_john-f-o-donohue-historical_Wichita-Falls-TX.html
Mississippi native John F. O'Donohue (1885 - 1967) first came to Wichita Falls in 1909 as a scout for the J. M. Guffey Petroleum Company, which later became the Gulf Oil Corporation. While staying in the Jolene Hotel, the wildcatter O'Donohue sta…
PAGE 1 OF 2