Historical Marker Search

You searched for Postal Code: 27262

Showing results 1 to 10 of 11
Confederate Dead Erected by Guilford Council No. 23 Jr. O.U.A.M. 1899.
Site of classes started in 1955 by High Point Furniture and Hosiery Manufacturers and the High Point Public Schools that later became GTCC, one of the first community colleges in North Carolina.
Born in High Point. Max Thurman made his home on Historic Johnson Street before entering NC State University in 1949. Graduated with Honors 1953 and entered US Army from ROTC. Rose to rank of General and distinguished himsel as the Army's Second i…
Founded by Methodist Church in 1924 with aid from City of High Point. University since 1991.
The Fayetteville and Western Plank Road was constructed in the late 1850's, stretching 129 miles long and covering what is now High Point's Main Street. In 1852, when the North Carolina Railroad Company surveyed the proposed rail route from Goldsb…
In 1786, John & Phebe Haley built this home on the Petersburg (Va) to Salisbury (NC) Road, a major trade route. At that time, the Haleys owned 368 acres of land around this site. John Haley was a blacksmith by trade, but also served as sheriff, ta…
This restored log structure is a working blacksmith shop, equipped with tools and materials similar to those John Haley used in his trade. The shop was found in Davidson County and was relocated to this site in 1970 with funds from the Millis fami…
Made Upton County seat in 1921. Named for F.E. Rankin, who gave site for railroad station-The center of community life over and above its business dealings; was scene of cowboy dances on Saturday nights and church services on Sundays.Home of Ranki…
Philip & Mary Hoggat built this house in 1754, 4 miles southwest of here. The Hoggats were among the first Quakers to move to this area. Donated by Mrs. Betty Jo Kellam, the cabin was relocated to this site in 1973 & restored with funds from the A…
Colonial home of Mary and Philip HoggattA Quaker PotterTypical example of a Pre-Revolution homeBuilt in Guilford County ca. 1754In continuous use until the 1960's. 1996 State Regents ProjectMary Ann Groome Helper, State Regent