Historical Marker Search

You searched for Postal Code: 22554

Page 8 of 8 — Showing results 71 to 75 of 75
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HMS1_from-indian-path-to-highway_Stafford-VA.html
In 1664, a colonial road here probably followed the trace of an old Indian path. Two years later, the road was extended to Aquia Creek. It became a post road in 1750, and in Sept. 1781 Gen. George Washington passed over it on the march to Yorktown…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HMS0_peytons-ordinary_Stafford-VA.html
In this vicinity stood Peyton's Ordinary. George Washington, going to Fredericksburg to visit his mother, dined here, March 6, 1769. On his way to attend the House of Burgesses, he spent the night here, October 31, 1769, and stayed here again on S…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HMRX_in-the-name-of-christ-the-king_Stafford-VA.html
To commemorate the first English Catholic Settlers in Virginia: Colonel Giles Brent, Deputy Governor of Maryland 1643; Margaret and Mary Brent who settled at Aquia 1647; George Brent, King's Attorney General 1686, Member House of Burgesses 1688, w…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HMRB_historic-aquia-creek_Stafford-VA.html
The first known permanent English Roman Catholic settlers in Virginia, Giles Brent, his sister Margaret, and other family members, emigrated here from Maryland by 1650. In May 1861, Confederates built artillery batteries on the bluffs overlooking …
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HMRA_first-roman-catholic-settlement-in-virginia_Stafford-VA.html
The crucifix by sculptor Georg J. Lober, erected in 1930, commemorates the first English Roman Catholic settlement in Virginia. Fleeing political and religious turmoil in Maryland, Giles Brent and his sisters Margaret and Mary established two plan…
PAGE 8 OF 8