Historical Marker Search

You searched for Postal Code: 22207

Showing results 1 to 10 of 23
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1AW1_confederate-outpost_Arlington-VA.html
In August 1861, while U.S. forces were constructing the Arlington line three miles to the east, the Confederates established a fortified outpost on the high ground about 200 yards west of here, to guard the bridge by which the Georgetown - Falls C…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM183B_maywood_Arlington-VA.html
Railroad and trolley lines stimulated the development of many Arlington neighborhoods in the early 20th century. In 1906 the Great Falls and Old Dominion Railway opened a line through this area. From 1909 to 1913 the Conservative Realty Corporatio…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM14K0_pimmit-run-and-chain-bridge_Arlington-VA.html
Pimmit Run is a stream that runs from the Pimmit Hills neighborhood in Falls Church and joins the Potomac River immediately south of Chain Bridge. The mouth of Pimmit Run provided Native Americans and settlers access to fresh water and fishing, th…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1338_john-saegmuller-house_Arlington-VA.html
This Prairie style house was built around 1926 for John Leonard Saegmuller. The prominent local family owned about 240 acres of land in this part of the county. John worked for his father George Nicholas designing optical instruments at his factor…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM12NB_the-glebe-of-fairfax-parish_Arlington-VA.html
The glebe was a 500-acre farm provided for the rector of Fairfax Parish, which included both Christ Church, Alexandria, and the Falls Church. The Glebe House, built in 1775, stood here. It burned in 1808 and was rebuilt in 1820, as a hunting lodge…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM129Y_birchwood_Arlington-VA.html
Caleb Birch, a farmer and constable, built a log house here around 1800 on land granted to his grandfather, James Robertson, by Lord Fairfax in 1724. The original house burned and was rebuilt about 1836. A second log cabin was added ten years late…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM129X_george-nicholas-saegmuller_Arlington-VA.html
Saegmuller, a native of Germany, came to America at 23 and achieved success as an inventor and manufacturer of scientific instruments. He lived here at Reserve Hill, the home of his parents-in-law, the Vandenbergs, and contributed in many ways to …
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM123A_wunders-crossroads_Arlington-VA.html
For more than half a century from the mid-1800's the intersection of Lee Highway and Glebe Road was known as Wunders Crossroads after the family whose farm lay just northeast. Dr. Henry S. Wunder and his son George O. Wunder were leading citizens …
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM122I_mt-olivet-methodist-church_Arlington-VA.html
This is Arlington's oldest church site in continuous use. Land for a Methodist Protestant Meeting House was conveyed in 1855 by William and Ann Marcey and John B. and Cornetia Brown, for whom Brown's Bend Road (now 16th Street, North) was named. T…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM11RY_little-falls-road_Arlington-VA.html
Little Falls Road was originally a trail from the Indian villages at the head of Four Mile Run to the Potomac River fisheries just below the Little Falls. Later it was developed as a wagon road from the settlement at the Falls Church to Thomas Lee…
PAGE 1 OF 3