You searched for Postal Code: 20850
Showing results 1 to 10 of 56
In 1896, after the election of Mayor Joseph Reading on the Water Works ticket, the Mayor and Council of Rockville approved plans and specifications for a waterworks and electric light plant. The plant was intended to supplement and eventually repl…
You are standing on the tract of land where Wootton's Mill once stood near Watts Branch stream. The gristmill was constructed and began operations in 1821. The saw and gristmill was powered by an overshot wheel, in which the weight of water conduc…
Baltimore and Ohio Railroad
The Pump House was built in 1897 under the guidance of Mayor Joseph Reading, the town druggist who was elected on the "Water Works Ticket." Known as "Rockville Electric Light and Water Works," it was an important step in the gr…
During the 1913-1914 holiday season, 28 cases of typhoid fever were reported in Rockville and three people died.
The new U.S. Public Health Service investigated, and identified the town's water system as the problem. Contaminated ground water f…
When Montgomery County was created in 1776, the village today known as Rockville was selected as the seat of local government. Since that time, five court houses have been built in Courthouse Square. § Postal Service began in Montgomery Court Hou…
Original home of
Lucy Simpson's Rockville Institute
a private school known as
the "Little Red Hut"
——— · ———
Owned by the Darby family from 1914 - 1979.
Restored and renovated i…
General Edward Braddock and his troops camped in Rockville in 1755 on their way to Fort Duquesne during the French and Indian War. § In 1774, local residents passed the Hungerford Resolves in protest against British taxation policy in the America…
Rockville started in the 1750s as a tiny Village Crossroads. It was called Owens Ordinary, Hungerford's Tavern, Montgomery Court House, Williamsburgh, and finally in 1803 Rockville. § Route 355 began as an Indian path that later became a colonial…
The practice field for Rockville's African American baseball team was located between North Washington Street and present-day Hungerford Drive.
The team played around the county and in Washington, D.C. from the early 1900s through the 1950s, la…