You searched for Postal Code: 20814
Showing results 1 to 10 of 23
This property has been
Placed on the
of Historic Places
By the United States
Department of the Interior
A champion on and off the field
An Enduring Contribution to Baseball.
Games Won ________ 414
Shut Outs __________ 113
Strike Outs ________ 3497
Opening Game Shut Outs 7
The Bethesda Meeting House was erected on this site in 1820. The original sanctuary was destroyed by fire. A second edifice was built in 1850 about 100 yards south of the cemetery. In 1926 the church was moved to its present location at Wilson Lan…
The Church that Named a Community was built on this site in 1820 and called Bethesda House of Mercy. The entire district came to be called by that name.
The community of Bethesda is known the world over as a center of Healing.
This marker is erect…
Bethesda Meeting House
Founded 1820 - Rebuilt 1850
Margaret Whetten Chapter
National Society Daughters
of American Revolution
October 28, 1979
The 1903 Walter Reed Memorial Association's vision for a memorial in honor of Major Walter Reed was finally realized on 21 November 1966 on the ground of the Walter Reed Army Medical Center, Washington DC. After the center's closure on 15 Septembe…
Originally, the grounds of the National Naval Medical Center was a rural farm with a small pond fed by a natural spring. The picture to the right is the original spring house located on the property. the pool and the tiny stream reminded the Presi…
Part of Old Georgetown Road Was once an Indian trail going from what is now Wisconsin Avenue to the Potomac River. In 1806, The Maryland Assembly created the Washington Turnpike Company to improve the Georgetown-Frederick Road.
The 192 year old, 84 foot tall white oak that grew here was felled on February 14, 1998 to make way for the Mark O. Hatfield Clinical Research Center. The U.S. Navy used the 14 ton, 35 foot trunk segment for repairs to the USS Constitution, the hi…
In 1890, the Tennallytown and Rockville Railroad ran along Old Georgetown Road to Bethesda Park, a favorite amusement spot in the area. The park entrance was located on the corner of what is now Old Georgetown Road and Sonoma Road.