You searched for Postal Code: 20646
Showing results 1 to 10 of 11
Signer of the Declaration of Independence
Member of Congress
Placed by the Maryland State Society
Daughters of the American Revolution
July 4, 1978
Charles County was created by the Maryland General Assembly in 1658. In 1674 the first Charles County Courthouse was built near here. In the area known as Moore's Lodge, a prison, ordinary (tavern), and race track also were located there. In 1727 …
The widow Eilbeck, mentioned in Washington's diary, lived here. Her daughter, Ann Eilbeck, married Col. George Mason of Gunston Hall, Virginia. Araby built about 1700.
Destroyed by a tornado on November 9, 1926. Thirteen pupils and four townspeople lost their lives and approximately thirty-five were injured. The school stood 433 feet northwest of this site on a rise in a residential area near the junction of Wic…
11.8 miles West near Ironsides, MD. Oldest church in Charles County. Served by thirty rectors through 257 years. Present building erected 1732. Visited by George Washington 1771. Restored by Governor Smallwood 1791.
— 2 miles →Job Chandler, first Charles County settler, built the oldest part of this house, 1639-1650, aided by the Potopaco Indians. Later it was the birthplace of Archbishop Leonard Neale, one of six brothers, all Catholic priests, a…
Dr. James Craik, friend and family physician of Gen Washington, built this place, La Grange, about 1765 and lived here until his removal to Alexandria, VA., 1783.
First Carmel in U.S. Founded October 15, 1790, by four Carmelites from Belgium three of them natives of Maryland. Nuns moved to Baltimore Sept. 13, 1831. The restorers of Mt. Carmel in Md Recoverd site March 27, 1935. Restored buildings 1937.
800 acres, purchased May 25, 1929, from Walter J. Mitchell, Attorney for Mortgagee; from Hunter's License Fund, for the purpose of propagating game.
Parish church of Port Tobacco Parish, one of the 30 Church of England parishes established, 1692, by act of the provincial assembly, supported by a yearly poll tax of 40 pounds of tobacco. In 1904 the edifice was moved stone by stone from Port Tob…