Historical Marker Search

You searched for Postal Code: 20007

Showing results 1 to 10 of 131
The first house of worship in Georgetown — a town dominated by Presbyterian Scots — was a log church built in 1769 by a Lutheran congregation where the present Lutheran church now stands (opposite). The Presbyterian Burial Ground, once…
Rose Park Playground was established in 1918 by the Ancient Order of the Sons and Daughters of Moses to serve African American children. The city acquired it in 1922. Georgetown neighbors ignored the segregation rules at this "colored" facility, a…
For God And Country [Left plaque on bottom of memorial:] In memory of all those who have given their lives for their country ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ Presented by the Class of 19…
Compassionate Jesuit, gifted scholar generous friend, loyal alumnus (c' 56) distinguished 47th President of Georgetown University given by friends in loving honor
This property has been placed on the National Register of Historic Places by the United States Department of the Interior
Front: First organized in a cooper's shop in 1772. Bishop Asbury preached here. This church was built in 1849 and renovated tin 1898. It served as a Civil War Hospital in 1862. President Lincoln attended this church on March 8, 1863 to hear Bis…
In 1923 the Archbishop authorized the establishment of the Epiphany Mission where African Americans created a new community under the leadership of the Josephite Fathers. In 1925 the church was built and the mission became Epiphany Parish
Front: Georgetown's first African Americans were brought as slaves to labor for the tobacco industry and for domestic service in the houses of wealthy tobacco merchants. Others came as freed men and women before and after the Civil War. Over time…
Erected about 1799 by John Laird later occupied by Judge James Dunlop and Robert Todd Lincoln National Capital Sesquicentennial Commission 1930
Front: Georgetown citizens have been central to preserving Georgetown's important historic houses. Three of these houses, built at the turn of the 19th century on large plots of land overlooking the port, are now accessible to the public and are …
PAGE 1 OF 14