You searched for Postal Code: 12883
Showing results 1 to 10 of 49
Tower Avenue Grindstones. The grindstones lining this street were used by the early mills operating in the 1800's. The mills were located in the entire area of the falls on the La Chute River. They were salvaged by Vincent Strebe and erected in …
Rivière de La Chute. At these lower falls stood the sawmill used in 1755 by the French to build Fort Carillon, and by the British in 1759 to build a fleet and the forts at Ticonderoga and Crown Point. Ticonderoga Historical Society
A Way to the World. The La Chute River supplied more than power for the mills. It also connected to Lake Champlain and the wider world. People and goods traveled much more easily by water than by land, so the corridor formed by Lake Champlain, Lak…
1756 French Saw Mill on La Chute River. In 1756 the French erected a mill on the river opposite this spot for sawing and preparing timbers used in Fort Carillon, renamed Fort Ticonderoga when captured by General Amherst in 1759. . . General Aber…
Battling French & Indians and on retreat from Snowshoe Battle in 1758, Rogers' Rangers crossed over this mountain where Rogers staged his legendary escape at Rogers Rock on Lake George.
Fifteen thousand men landed here to attack Ticonderoga which was successfully defended by Montcalm July, 1758
Major outpost on Lake George, a small palisaded log fort, built in 1756 to defend Fort Carillon from British attack, & named Camp De Contrecoeur, stood in this vicinity.
This property has beenplaced on theNational Registerof Historic Placesby the United StatesDepartment of the Interior.
Through this place passedGen. Henry Knoxin the winter of 1775-1776to deliver toGen. George Washingtonat Cambridgethe train of artilleryfrom Fort Ticonderogaused to force the BritishArmy to evacuate Boston
Erected byThe State of New Yorkduring t…
Marker #1:Two historic waterways converge at Ticonderoga. Long before the region became important to European powers, Native Americans made a portage here for carrying canoes and gear between Lake George and Lake Champlain. The five-mile-long La C…