Historical Marker Search

You searched for Postal Code: 101

Showing results 1 to 10 of 28
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM2BAP_adalstraeti-2-ingolfsnaust_Reykjavik-IS.html
Uppsátur landnamsmanna við Reykjavík getur hafa verið hér a bakkanum þar sem húsin standa. Verslunarstaðurinn var fluttur úr Örfirisey um 1770 og þa voru fjögur hús enddurreist á þessari lóð, en 1855 reisti Tærgesen kaupm…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM2B3Z_arnarholl-arnarholstradir_Reykjavik-IS.html
(English side:) The old farmstead of Arnarhóll stood on the knoll of the same name, where the statue of Ingólfur Arnarson, Iceland's first settler, now stands. The farm is believed to have been founded shortly after the settlement of Iceland (a…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM2AYG_tobbukot_Reykjavik-IS.html
(English Side:) In 1858 a small half-stone house or steinbaer was built here. Before long it was purchased by midwife Þorbjörg Sveinsdóttir. The house was commonly called Tobbukot, a diminutive derived from "Þorbjörg's cottage." In 18…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM2AX5_bernhoeftstorfan-bernhoefts-sward_Reykjavik-IS.html
(English side:) The name Bernhöftstorfa (Bernhöft's Sward) is derived from the T.D. Bernhöft bakery, which stood in Bankastræti 2. Bernhöft's house was built at the north end of the lot in 1938, along with the bakery, peat store, grain sto…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM2AAC_grjogata-4_Reykjavik-IS.html
Einar Pálsson snikkari byggði þetta hús árið 1896. Á árunum 1900 til 1920 var Stefán Eiríksson „hinn oddhagi" með teiknistofu og verkstæði í kjallara hússins. Margir smiðir og listamenn lærðu hjá honum og skipar húsið s&ea…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM2A92_hljomskalagardurinn-pavilion-park_Reykjavik-IS.html
(English text:) The Hljómskálagarður Park was Reykjavík's first formally-planned park. The idea of making a park at the southern end of the Tjörnin Lake was first suggested in the early 19th century, but it was not until 1901 that the t…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM2A7D_tungata-6_Reykjavik-IS.html
Lárus E. Sveinbjörnsson dómstórji reisti dom húsið árið 1875. Síðar bjó Magnús Einarsson dýralæknir, tengdasonur Lárusar, i húsinu. Húsið er með hefðbundnu dönsku sniði. Árið 1995 var húsið fært til eldra horfs. - …
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM2A5M_the-settlement-of-reykjavik_Reykjavik-IS.html
(English side:) Archaeological remains have been found in the city centre. They date back to the settle-ment period in the 9th century to modern times. This is the site of the first settlement of Reykjavík and it is believed that the farmstead…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM28HH_laugavegur-15_Reykjavik-IS.html
Þetta hús reisti Ludvig Storr árið 1925. Hann ánafnaði húsið menningar - og framfarasjóði Ludvig Storr, sem stofnaður var 1979 og er í vörslu háskóla íslands. - (English translation:) This house was built by Ludvig S…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM287K_hverfisgata-45_Reykjavik-IS.html
Steinhús byggt árið 1914, eitt elsta dæmið um íslenska steinsteypuklassík í Reykjavík. Hér var áður tómthúsbýlið Hlið eða Arnljótskot. Fyrstu eigendur hússins voru hjónin Matthías Einarsson læknir og Ellen Ludvíka M…
PAGE 1 OF 3