Historical Marker Search

You searched for City|State|Country: , mi us

Showing results 1 to 10 of 96
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM2CHS_at-home-in-the-19th-century_Ann-Arbor-MI.html
At Home in the 19th Century. . Civic leader Silas Douglas, dean of the UM medical faculty and twice mayor of Ann Arbor, lived in this home at 502 East Huron Street from 1848 until 1902. His three daughters, Kate, Marie, and Louise, shown here ar…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM2CHD_residential-life-in-mid-19th-century-ann-arbor_Ann-Arbor-MI.html
Residential Life in Mid-19th Century Ann Arbor. . In 1858 Main Street jeweler Joseph C. Watts built his large brick home on the northeast corner of Liberty and Division within easy walking distance of his Main Street shop. Multiple fireplaces, a…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM2CG8_kempf-house_Ann-Arbor-MI.html
Cast iron grilles in an ancient Greek floral motif highlight the frieze of this temple-front Greek Revival house. Built in 1853 for Henry D. Bennett, Secretary and Steward of the University of Michigan, it became the home and studio of local musi…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM2BV7_the-michigan-ross-bur-oak_Ann-Arbor-MI.html
Conserving our living history For 200 years or more, a majestic bur oak and its companions grew on a site that eventually became home to the Ross School of Business. But when the school took on a new construction project in 2014, concerns arose a…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM2265_social-and-political-change-on-south-university_Ann-Arbor-MI.html
When local merchants began the Ann Arbor Art Fair in July 1960, South University catered to both townspeople and students. During 40 years of social and political change, the fair grew into a city-wide extravaganza. In the twentieth century, as fr…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM225M_the-corners-of-south-university-and-east-university-avenues_Ann-Arbor-MI.html
In the 1898 panorama above, campus buildings had not yet reached this corner. The School of Engineering and its shops can be seen in the distance. Cousins and Hall greenhouses and florist shop occupied most of the first block across South Universi…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM2255_east-university-avenue-campus-boundary_Ann-Arbor-MI.html
This plaque marks East University Avenue, which served as the eastern boundary of the original forty acres of land deeded to the State of Michigan in 1837 by the Ann Arbor Land Company for the location of the University of Michigan.
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM224P_governor-alpheus-felch_Ann-Arbor-MI.html
Born in Maine in 1804, Felch graduated from Bowdoin College in 1827. Entering the legal profession, he moved to Michigan in 1833 and after 1843 resided in Ann Arbor. A lifelong Democrat, Felch was governor in 1846-47, serving previously as justice…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM2227_first-medical-buildings_Ann-Arbor-MI.html
The original Medical Building was built in 1850 on the current site of Randall Laboratory, and provided the principal space for lectures, recitations, anatomical dissections, faculty offices, and laboratories from 1850 to 1903. Clinical diagnosis,…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM221Y_simpson-memorial-institute_Ann-Arbor-MI.html
The Thomas Henry Simpson Memorial Institute for Medical Research combined medical research and patient care activities, provided research experience for medical and postgraduate students, direct care to its patients on the third floor, and consult…
PAGE 1 OF 10