You searched for City|State|Country: , ms us
Page 36 of 40 — Showing results 351 to 360 of 399
On April 24, 1865, the Sultana left Vicksburg with over 2,300 Union soldiers aboard, many of whom were former prisoners of war. Some 200 civilians were also on board, despite a legal limit of 376 people. Due to a faulty boiler, the Sultana explode…
The C.S.S. Arkansas, an ironclad built in Yazoo City, met the Union vessels Queen of the West, Tyler and Carondelet on July 15, 1862, on the Yazoo River. Moving into the Mississippi, the Arkansas ran past thirty-nine Union vessels on her way to Vi…
Built in three stages from ca. 1830 to 1855, this Greek Revival-style mansion was originally built by J.W. Mauldin and sold to Victor Wilson in 1840. Added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1981, Anchuca was Vicksburg's first columned…
Site of first African Methodist Episcopal Church (1864), and first Negro Masonic Lodge in Mississippi organized here (1875). Campbell College was organized here in 1890. Present church was built in 1912.
On bluffs above. Built by Spain in 1790's on land granted by Choctaws. At evacuation in March 1798, name became Ft. McHenry, honoring U.S. Sec. of War. Abandoned about 1800.
Fort Nogales, which was the first settlement at Vicksburg, was established by the Spaniards on this spot in 1791. In 1798, it passed from the possession of Spain to the United States and was re-named Fort McHenry. It was used as a Confederate fort…
Built 1834. Housed Vicksburg branch, Planters' Bank of Mississippi until 1842. Occupied by officers of 28th Louisiana Reg. during Vicksburg siege.
Acquired by Vicksburg Council of Garden Clubs, Inc., 1956.
Because it was the lone Blakely rifled cannon in all the Vicksburg defenses, the Confederate soldiers called this 7.44-inch gun, "The Widow Blakely." During the siege it was mounted about 1 mile north of its present position. On May 22, 1863, the …
Site of Lum Mansion, Hq. of Gen. U.S. Grant, family & staff, after siege of Vicksburg, 1863. The 26 room house, built about 1820, was later destroyed by order of Capt. Cyrus B. Comstock to build fortification.
Built mid-1830s. Home of diarist Emma Balfour, noted diarist of the Siege. Site of 1862 Christmas ball interrupted by arrival of Federal fleet. Following surrender, July 4, 1863, was HQ. of Maj.-Gen. J.B. McPherson.