Historical Marker Search

You searched for City|State|Country: , ca us

Showing results 1 to 10 of 363
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM26NT_jagel-slough_Sunnyvale-CA.html
One mile north-west of this plaque lies Jagel Slough, named for the Jagel Family, who were hay and grain farmers in the area. It is believed Ozymandias P. Jagel, who settled here (1859), set up a still to carry on an illegal liquor business. He pe…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM26KR_the-reverend-dr-martin-luther-king-jr_Stanford-CA.html
On April 23, 1964 and April 14, 1967, The Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. addressed the Stanford community and local citizens in this Auditorium. "It may well be that we will have to repeat in this generation, not merely for the vitri…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM260T_hacienda-cemetery_San-Jose-CA.html
On the east bank of Los Alamitos Creek, with graves dating back to the 1800s, lies the final resting place for Quicksilver Miners and their families. A wooden marker notes the burial site of Richard Bertram Barrett's arm, lost in a hunting acciden…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM260K_helping-hand-hall_San-Jose-CA.html
Built in 1886 by Giles McDougal as social meeting place for miners & families. Included game room, kitchen, library & dance hall with stage patterned after San Francisco's Tivoli Theater. Upstairs rooms use for Hacienda visitors; in summer, arts &…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM260J_new-almaden-community-club_San-Jose-CA.html
New Almaden, first mining town in California, founded 1845. Community Club House built in 1950s on land and with materials donated by the community, under directions of Nathaniel Gross. The Club is a non-profit organization dedicated to the preser…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM260I_hacienda-hotel_San-Jose-CA.html
Built after the tragic 1875 fire destroyed the original 1848 Adobe Hotel. First two-story hotel in California. Used by the Almaden Quicksilver Mining Co. for unmarried employees & to house visitors to mining settlement. Remodeled into the Caf&eacu…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM260H_saint-anthony-catholic-church_San-Jose-CA.html
Built in 1899, Mrs. Guadalupe Madero was concerned over the safety of her son, Antonio, away at the Spanish-American War. As a favor upon his sage return, she helped direct community funds & labor to construct Saint Anthony Church.
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM25ZS_hacienda-school_San-Jose-CA.html
At the corner of Alameda Road at Bertram, sat the first Hacienda Schoolhouse built in the 1850s by mine owner Barron Forbes Co. to educate miners' and neighboring ranchers' children. About 85 students attended grades 1-8. In 1914, a second adjacen…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM25ZR_site-of-reduction-works_San-Jose-CA.html
Established in 1846, the Scott Furnace introduced here in 1874 revolutionized the quicksilver industry. Mine office located in 1850 in existing adobe building. Telephone installed 1878. Electric lights in 1890.
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM25ZQ_site-of-first-mining-operation-in-california_San-Jose-CA.html
Here in Los Alamitos Creek in 1824, Luis Chabolla & Antonio Sunol first worked New Almaden ore in an arrastra & sluice.
PAGE 1 OF 37