Historical Marker Search

You searched for City|State|Country: , ca us

Page 4 of 23 — Showing results 31 to 40 of 226
The original wooden water tower was built here in 1872. This water tower has stood as a beacon since 1936, connecting yesterday, today and tomorrow.Dedicated as a Galt Historical LandmarkNovember 11, 1995
(Left Side of Base Holding Bell)Only battleshipbuilt on thePacific CoastLaunched atMare IslandNavy YardNov. 20, 1919 Ship's belldedicated andrung for thelast time byGovernorEarl WarrenOct. 27, 1949 (Right Side of Base Holding Bell):World War…
Constructed in 1868. Headquarters of Sacramento Society of California Pioneers Founded 1854Sacramento Pioneer Foundation Incorporated 1966 Plaque dedicated April 19, 1967 by Sacramento Historic Landmarks CommissionRededicated June 30, 1988
The Pioneer Hall was built in 1868 as headquarters of the Sacramento Society of California Pioneers, which was organized February 6, 1853. It has been owned and cared for since its construction by the California Pioneer Association, descendants of…
To the memory of the riders of thePony Express, 1860-1861First relay station out of Sutter's Fort.Dedicated April 19, 1936by the Native Sons and Daughtersof the Golden West.
Sa' Cumn'e means "Big House" in the Miwok LanguageAnd was an early name for the Sacramento areaThis plaza is dedicated to the Native Americanswho walked this land before us and inspire currentgenerations to carry forth their traditions. From Pl…
Site of a two story brick building built for Robert H. Vance of San Francisco in 1853. One of five brick structures erected that year, it was first occupied as a store. Almost coincident with the founding of Camp Union in 1861, it was taken over b…
Built in 1852 by the Lady Adams Mercantile Co.; named after the brig which brought the partners around the horn. She has survived fires, flood, and being lifted one story. She has served merchants, bankers, and as a "rooming house". And has been f…
John Charles Fremont was a naturalist, explorer, scientist and Captain with the U.S. Topographical Engineers on his third expedition to the West when he camped on this mountain. His assignment was to survey, map, chart trails and find the shortest…
Started at James Hall's Hotel in 1850 (an outstanding brick building destroyed by the freeway) on Upper Stockton Road and moved a mile north to James Buckner's Ranch a few years later. The town moved to its present site on the railroad in the 1870's.
PAGE 4 OF 23