You searched for City|State|Country: , wv us
Page 3 of 8 — Showing results 21 to 30 of 71
William Weathers, a farmer and blacksmith from Berkely County. He sold half the lot in 1785, the other half in 1795, and bought the entire lot back before 1798. Weathers bought Lot #97 the same day.
Lot #3: Conveyed by the Trustees of the Town …
For more than 200 years, the area bordering the park and springs on which the Country Inn stands, has been the historic spa town's center of hospitality.
In September 1784, George Washington stayed at Sign of the Liberty Pole and Flag located j…
In 1885, noted Maryland businessman, Colonel Samuel Taylor Suit began construction on the elaborate summer cottage now known as Berkeley Castle. The land was part of the original Fruit Hill Farm owned before the Civil War by John Strother of the B…
It could be called "education hill" given the assortment of learning institutions that have been located on the crest of an area bounded by the Dutch Cemetery on the west and WV9 on the south. Part of the Green Addition to town, it was known as Mt…
Palatinate Germans, called Dutch from the translation of Deutsch, migrated south to Berkeley Springs from Pennsylvania. Lots 1 and 2 of the original town plat were set aside by the trustees in 1777 for a German church and two other houses. There i…
"The Mountain State" - western part of the Commonwealth of Virginia until June 20, 1863. Settled by the Germans and Scotch-Irish. It became a line of defense between the English and French during the French and Indian War, 1754-1763.
John Donovan, a tavern keeper from Hancock, Maryland. He also purchased Lot #126, a site on which the town's first theater was built.
Lot #130: Conveyed by the Trustees of the Town of Bath to John Donovan [no recorded date].
Charles Dick, a merchant from Spotsylvania County, Va. He was associated with Fielding Lewis, owner of adjoining Lot #45, in manufacturing firearms for Revolutionary troops at a factory in Fredericksburg, Va.
Lot #44: Conveyed by the Trustees o…
Bryan Fairfax, Thomas Bryan Martin, both Trustees, and George William Fairfax. By 1798, at least four of the five lots deeded to these three nephews of Thomas Sixth Lord Fairfax were owned by Ferdinando Fairfax, son of Bryan.
Lot #54: Conveyed …
Henry Whiting of Bath, a cousin of George Washington, who also bought Lots #95, #96, #120 and #121. All five lots were owned in 1798 by his father-in-law, Col. John Carlyle of Alexandria, Va. Carlyle was one of Alexandria's…