You searched for City|State|Country: , wi us
Page 10 of 11 — Showing results 91 to 100 of 108
Ralph ClarkHuston Jr.S1/c USNR 20 MM Loaderkilled by Japanesegunfire duringsurface attack byCobia 2-27-45 remainscommitted to the deep.
Built in 1886 by a Mr. Boehmer of Manitowoc for the U.S. Lighthouse Service this lighthouse stood at the harbor entrance of Two Rivers for 89 years until it was replaced by an automated beacon. The original lamp was a 240 degree Fresnel lens lit b…
Built in 1929 by William A. Groverand John Volin. Restored in 2003 by Kevin Voysey and other volunteers with the cooperation of Point Beach State Forest supervisor, Guy Willman. Thanks from the Grover/Smith families to all who helped.
The Meeme Poll House, the official voting place in the Town of Meeme for 83 years, was erected by Joseph Schwartz and Edmund Kolb in 1900. German immigrants and their descendants exercised their democratic right to vote in this simple wood…
The land for "North Side Park" was donated by Manitowoc founder Benjamin Jones. A Victorian bandstand and ornate drinking fountain were once located in the center.
Following Fort Sumter, April, 1861, volunteers marched and drilled here prepari…
This SpotMarks the Landing of the First White Settlers inManitowoc May 5, 1836________
Manitowoc County Historical Society1939
In 1847 New York millwright and speculator Pliney Pierce built this mill adjacent to the rapidly falling waters of Devils River. First constructed as a sawmill, Rock Mill was quickly converted to a gristmill after the area's available timber was d…
Many modern highways follow routes marked out long ago by Indian people. The Winnebago Trail across central Wisconsin became the general course of Highways 151 from Manitowoc to Fond du Lac, 45 from Fond du Lac to Oshkosh, 21 from Oshkosh …
In 1854, Fr. Ambrose Oschwald and a group of settlers emigrated from Baden, Germany to found a Catholic religious colony in the spirit of early Christians. This communal settlement was named St. Nazianz, after St. Gregory of Nazianzus from…
St. Gregory Church1864-1868 is listed in theState Register ofHistoric PlacesThe State Historical Society of Wisconsin