Historical Marker Search

You searched for City|State|Country: , tx us

Showing results 1 to 10 of 18
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM27WP_texas-historic-bridge_Llano-TX.html
Named for a former mayor of Llano, the Roy B. Inks Bridge was built in 1936 to carry State Highway 29 (now State Highway 16) over the Llano River. The Inks Bridge replaced an earlier 1892 truss bridge at this location, which had been swept away by…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM23DP_the-antlers-caboose-rooms_Kingsland-TX.html
The cabooses were built by the International Railway Car Company for the Norfolk & Western Railroad. Each weighs 54,000 pounds and went into service in 1969 (Red), 1970 (Green), and 1976 (Yellow). The three different heralds painted on the sides r…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM23DO_mckinley-coach_Kingsland-TX.html
The McKinley Coach is the oldest rail car at The Antlers Hotel. Construction with square nails date it to the 1800's. Coach/baggage combination cars were especially suited for shortline railroads such as the 7 mile long Rockdale, Sandow & Southern…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1Q24_saint-james-lutheran-church_Llano-TX.html
Founded in 1897, St. Jakobi Evangelish Lutherisch Kirche was organized to serve German Lutherans in the growing community of Llano. Pastor Hugo Krienke, also serving churches in Mason and Leiningen, held German-language services first in Llano's n…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1Q0L_frank-teich_Llano-TX.html
A native of Germany, Frank Teich studied under master German artists and sculptors before coming to the United States in 1878. By 1883 he was established in San Antonio as an accomplished stonemason and artist. His supervision of work on the State…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1PXP_community-of-valley-spring_Llano-TX.html
O.C.J. Phillips, first settler, arrived in 1853. Whistleville combined with Bugscuffle to form Valley Spring, with post office established 1878.      This was birthplace of James Field Smathers (1888-1967), inventor of electric typewriter.
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1PNX_old-southern-hotel-building_Llano-TX.html
J.W. Owen had this hotel building constructed about 1880. Stonemasons J.K. Finlay and John Goodman built the original two-story structure, which was a stagecoach stop. The third floor was added during the ownership of Col. W.A.H. Miller, who bough…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1PNS_llano-womans-culture-club_Llano-TX.html
Local music teacher Jennie Clopton (1861-1904) organized the Woman's Literary Society with 16 charter members in 1901. The club established a public library, first called Clopton Library for the club's founder. Other projects of the renamed Woman'…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1OI0_acme-dry-goods-building_Llano-TX.html
Built in 1892 by Llano builder and stonemason John Goodman (8152-1935), this turn-of-the-century commercial row structure has housed a succession of dry goods merchants, including Mrs. Riley's Millinery, Carlton's Dry Goods, and a store operated b…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1OEW_llano-county-granite-industry_Llano-TX.html
Llano County's granite industry can be traced to 1888 when J. K. Finlay first polished a stone from his mill site and David Stewart opened a quarry south of Llano. Prominent sculptor Frank Teich leased a quarry from Stewart and established Teich M…
PAGE 1 OF 2