You searched for City|State|Country: , ms us
Showing results 1 to 10 of 36
Dr. Rush Nutt, who built Laurel Hill Plantation about 1815, is known for his agricultural and scientific study for initiating improvements in agricultural implements and techniques and for his civic contributions in early statehood days in Mississ…
The earliest references to the Rodney area are from the 1774 New England expedition led by General Phineas Lyman to organize a settlement on Big Black River. Captain Matthew Phelps, a member of this expedition, described the area as "firm rock on …
Ca. 1815. Located almost one mile southwest, Laurel Hill is in the National Register of Historic Places. A single approach leads from the primary road one-fourth mile toward Rodney down a deeply cut roadbed bordered by moss-draped cedars and oaks.…
The French were the first Europeans to claim this area, clled "Petit Gouffre", "Petit Golphe", "Petit Gulf", or "Little Gulf". In 1763, as a result of the French and Indian War, the area became the dominion of Great Britain. Spain captured British…
Listed in the National Register of Historic Places, the church was begun when the 1828 Mississippi Legislature granted a charter of Incorporation to the "Presbyterian Church of Petit Gulf". Later in 1828, the Town of Rodney was incorporated, the c…
The yellow tever epldemics of 1843 and 1898 were fatal to many
residents of Rodney. Even though the Union gunboat "Rattler"
fired upon the town, Rodney and her churches were spared
destruction during the Civil War. Here was the disembarking poi…
During the Civil War, on September 13, 1863, a skirmish oceurred
at the church. On that Sunday morning the Union gunboat "Rattler"
had docked at Rodney Rev. Baker, northern sympathizer
who was to preach that day, invited Captain Fentrese of the…
Incorporated in 1828, Rodney was noted for its high level of culture, county fairs and business activity. Rodney once contained two banks, two newspapers, 500 people and 35 stores. Cottonseed development, river boat landing, river boat taverns and…
Old early nineteenth century road was one of two connecting the old town of Rodney with Claiborne County settlements. Composed of loess soil, the roadbed and roadside bluffs remain today much as they were 150 years ago.
Settled,1806, by Scotch Presbyterians, whose Gaelic speech long survived. Rev. C.W. Grafton served as minister in area 61 years. Site where Grierson's raid was checked, April 28, 1863.