You searched for City|State|Country: , ks us
Showing results 1 to 10 of 15
Originally a one-room school building, 7 miles southeast of Oskaloosa )1/2 mile south of intersection of Republic and 54th). It was built in 1903 (28' X 44'), was moved to Oskaloosa in 1950 and used as part of Oskaloosa's elementary grade school c…
The Kilgour School was formed in 1869. The building was located about 4 miles southwest of Oskaloosa and the the [sic] corner of 78th and Lincoln. It was moved to Oskaloosa in 1950 and became part of the elementary grade school complex (Grades 1-4…
The Plum Grove School District was formed in 1863. It was located about 5 miles northeast of Oskaloosa near 122nd & Saline. It was moved to Oskaloosa in 1950 and became part of the elementary grade school complex (Grades 1-4), along with Kilgour, …
Grinding WheelfromOzawkie Mill
Donated byHoward Pence Family
Robert Wesley Reynolds (1847 - 1935) built his two story building on McLouth's Main Street in 1887 where it was used as a merchandise store. The porch was added when the building was moved to Old Jefferson Town in 1970.
The jail building was relocated from Winchester to Old JeffersonTown in 1977. The Winchester town police were more likely to use the jail as a sleep-over from drunks [than] to contain a criminal. It also served as a meeting place for city council,…
The church building was completed in 1891 and was located 4 miles north of McLouth at the intersection of Union (Hwy 92) and 118th. It was a United Brethren Church and became Evangelical United Brethren (E.U.B.) in 1946 with the unification of the…
Native Kansas artist John Steuart Curry (1897 - 1946), best known for the murals he painted in the Kansas State Capital [sic] building, was born and raised in Jefferson County. John lived in the home until 1914. It was located 6 miles north of Osk…
Built in Cleveland, Ohio in 1875. Originally it crossed Rock Creek north of Meriden. It was relocated in the 1950's to southeast of Valley Falls. It was moved in 1975 to Old Jefferson Town.
The Blacksmith Shop building is new (1983), but houses tools that were used in late 1800's and early 1900's. Many of the tools are from Archie Brown's shop in McLouth.