You searched for City|State|Country: , pa us
Showing results 1 to 10 of 42
Commander of the American forces in European waters in the first World War, naval writer and critic, entered the U.S. Naval Academy from this community in 1876. From 1883 to 1902, Sims family occupied the house opposite.
No man has contributed more to the preservation of Huntingdon County history than J. Simpson Africa, who resided here while compiling his monumental History of Huntingdon & Blair Counties in 1888. Lot#16, on which this building stands, was owned b…
The path turned south, up the Frankstown Branch of Juniata. The Warriors Path from Great Island came in at Water Street, so named because the river bed was used as a passage through Tusseys Mountain.
Along the streams of this region are ruins of many charcoal iron furnaces and forges built between 1790-1850. Juniata iron was the best in America. Its reign ended with the rise of coal and coke iron making.
A defense against the Indians-Built in 1778 near this spot by William McAlevy 1728-1822.
A pioneer settler, French and Indian War 1758. A Colonel in the American Revolution, one of five trustees appointed by the General Assembly 1787 to act for t…
The remaining buildings here were part of the iron works established about 1810. Operating first as a charcoal iron manufactory, the furnace later used coke. Iron was made here as late as 1888.
Present church built in 1858 by a Presbyterian congregation organized in 1798. Their first house of worship, a log church built in 1805, was within old Graysville Cemetery, on the hilltop opposite.
This large building was the transportation hub of the Furnace Community This large building was built about 1867 to house the blacksmith shop and wagon shop. The company owned over 140 horses and mules, which were brought here to be shoed. The com…
The Frankstown Path, highway of early travelers in this region, passed through the settlement of Hart's Log—later called Hartslog, now Alexandria. The place was first named after a hollow log at this site, which the trader John Hart used bet…
Built about 1837 to supply iron to Freedom Forge near Lewistown. Restored stack, the Church, Big House, and store common to iron making communities remain. Works closed 1904, the last to operate in this region.