You searched for City|State|Country: , wv us
Showing results 1 to 10 of 22
100 yards south is site of original log Three Springs Church. Built 1790 on land donated by James Campbell. Elisha Macurdy, first pastor, called Nov., 1799. The mother church of Cove and Paris United Presbyterian churches.
Formed in 1848 from Brooke. Named for John Hancock, first signer of the Declaration of Independence. Iron furnaces established in this county as early as 1794 made the cannon balls that Commodore Perry used in Battle of Lak…
First iron furnace in N.W. Virginia built in 1790's on Campbell land by a man named Grant. Company of Grant & Partner failed CA. 1800. Deeded to Peter Tarr April, 1801, by pioneer James Campbell. Operations resumed by Connell, Tarr & Co. Continuin…
East was Fort Holliday, built in 1776. During the Revolution it was a supply depot for the Continental Army. From it Col. Swearingen led troops with ammunition to relieve Fort Henry at Wheeling when attacked by Indians in 1777.
On Tomlinson Run, Nesselroad's powder mill began operation about 1795. Near by occurred the famous fight between Andrew and Adam Poe, border scouts, and Chief Big Foot and another Indian in 1782. The Poes won. Two Indians died.
Named for natural springs reputedly used by George Washington. Donated in 1857 for picnics and prize fights. Developed in 1897 as amusement park served by streetcar and boat attracting 15-20 thousand daily. Included dance pavilions, shooting galle…
Here is located the largest single pottery unit in the world. This county has been a large producer of pottery for more than a century and today West Virginia stands second among all of the states in its production.
One of the events which led up to Dunmore's War was the killing at this point of the family of Chief Logan, eloquent leader of the Mingo Indians, April, 1774, opposite their village at the mouth of Yellow Creek in Ohio.
Two miles east is the site of first blast furnace west of the Alleghenies. Built in 1794, it was the forerunner of the steel industry which flourished in this area. Here Peter Tarr cast cannon balls used by Perry on Lake Erie.
In 1839 John Cuppy laid out 42 lots on his farm between Ohio River and hill; added 50 lots in 1850. Named Vernon but called Cuppy Town. In 1840 John Chapman built the first house. Industry based on rich clay deposits, brick plants and river transp…