Historical Marker Search

You searched for City|State|Country: , tx us

Showing results 1 to 10 of 202
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM28RJ_hutchings-sealy-co_Galveston-TX.html
This impressive building contains grey and pink granite, red Texas sandstone, and buff colored terra cotta. Designed in the Neo-Renaissance style by Galveston architect Nicholas J. Clayton, it was built in 1895 for the banking firm of Ball, Hutchi…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM28RH_hendley-row_Galveston-TX.html
The Firm of William Hendley & Co. was founded in 1845. The partnership consisted of William Hendley, Capt. Joseph J. Hendley, John L. Sleight, and Phillip Gildersleeve. This firm, with Brower and Neilson of New York, started the "Texas and New Y…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM28RG_united-states-national-bank-building_Galveston-TX.html
The United States National Bank started in 1874 when the Island City Savings Bank was established with a charter to operate for 50 years. In 1887 the bank was failing and called on Mr. Harris Kempner to help out the financial crisis. Mr. Kempner b…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM28RF_thomas-jefferson-league-building_Galveston-TX.html
Thomas Jefferson League (1834-74) had this building constructed in 1871, putting the final touches on the structure when a new galvanized iron cornice was installed on October 8, 1872, after a storm damaged the new building at the corner of Tremon…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM28RE_the-hendley-building_Galveston-TX.html
Built 1855-1859. First commercial building in Galveston. Housed the first headquarters of the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Galveston Engineer Office, established February 25, 1880. From these offices, the first District Engineer, Maj. Samuel M. M…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM28RD_mitchell-street_Galveston-TX.html
Twenty-fourth Street is renamed to honor George and Cynthia Mitchell, who catalyzed the renaissance of the Strand Historic District. George Mitchell was born on the island in 1919 to Greek immigrants Mike and Katina Mitchell (born Savvas Paraskevo…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM28O5_rice-baulard-company-building_Galveston-TX.html
The three row buildings at 213-217 Tremont, their exteriors now restored, were constructed in 1870 by Rice, Baulard & Company, a major supplier of paints, oils, varnish and window glass in Texas and Louisiana in the 1800's. Victor Baulard immi…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM28O4_southwestern-telegraph-and-telephone-building_Galveston-TX.html
Listed in the National Register of Historic Places by The United States Department of the Interior
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM28O3_washington-hotel_Galveston-TX.html
In 1873 John Parker Davie had erected on this corner a four-story sixty-room hotel. Originally the Cosmopolitan, it was renamed the Washington the year after the famous old Washington Hotel at 21st and Mechanic Street burned down in the fire of 18…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM28NQ_pix-building_Galveston-TX.html
Charles Hodgeson Pix was a member of a Texas pioneer family that came to Galveston from England in 1838. He was one of the early English merchants in Galveston who were importers of English goods direct from London. He began business at #6 Strand …
PAGE 1 OF 21