You searched for City|State|Country: , va us
Page 5 of 31 — Showing results 41 to 50 of 310
Originally built in 1905 by C.H. Wine who was a builder as well as one of the organizers and treasurer of the Bull Run Power Company. The house was enlarged and restored in 1973 and retains the charm and architecture of the Victorian era.
This house was originally the summer kitchen for the wine house next door. The building was moved to its current location, converted into a home and sold to Mr. Spinks in 1908. The house later became the home of the Fairfax family until it was sol…
In 1929, the Mount Vernon Ladies' Association placed a marker noting the location of the slave cemetery, believed to be the first commemoration of its kind at a historic site. Despite this recognition, the burial ground lay unattended for decades,…
In 1799, this estate was home to a community of 317 enslaved men, women, and children who had no choice but to live here. Most of these enslaved people lived and worked on the four outlying farms as rural laborers. About one quarter of the populat…
George Washington had several horse-drawn vehicles. Slaves, including Joe, a driver, and Jack, a wagoner, took care of the Mount Vernon vehicles. Travel during the 18th century was difficult. Poorly maintained roads meant that even short journeys …
This caboose was built for the Norfolk and Western Railroad (N&W) in December 1969.
It was donated in 1993 to the museum and repainted as Southern Railway (SR) Washington Division caboose X518606 the following year.
The front portion of this building first served as an out kitchen for the Payne House. Around 1918 it was moved across Chapel Street where it served as home for the train agent. In 1955 the first floor became Tom Fairfax's barber shop until the mi…
This country cottage was built by Alvin, Ollie and Lewie Poe on land once a part of Detwiler's Dairy Farm. The construction is fir lumber, featuring old schoolhouse windows on the back porch. Mrs. Sutphin resided here for over 45 years and served …
Susan Riviere Hetzel
April 7, 1846 - June 1908
An organizer of the
National Society of the D.A.R.
Marker placed by the
Susan Riviere Hetzel Chapter
District of Columbia
Daughters of the American Revolution
This house built by Wallace Woodyard who was one of Clifton's great lumber merchants. It contains the best in material and workmanship. Completely restored in 1969.