You searched for City|State|Country: , va us
Page 4 of 31 — Showing results 31 to 40 of 310
This building was built as a General Mercantile Store and through the years has been occupied as a Saloon, Bakery, Grocery, Pool Hall, Cabinet Shop and Church.
The addition was added in 1926 for a Barber Shop.
The building was completely res…
Owned by Rev. Wm. Bradley & his wife Elisabeth, the first Presbyterian Minister in
Clifton, the parents of Margaret Riviere Hetzel, who taught the first School in Clifton
Restored in 1981
Built in 1910 by Clifton lumber merchant J. M. Fulmer. Two times mayor of Clifton, 1920 — 1924 and 1930 — 1936, Fulmer was known as the town strong man.
This house is an excellent example of the Carpenter Gothic architectural syle t…
This house originally built by the Corsens and was later inhabited by the Gunther family. It was aquired by the town of Clifton in 1973 as a location for town meetings.
Built on a lot owned by a freed slave. This house was in the Pitkin family for over 60 years. A major addition in 1995 changed the focus to a brick courtyard in the rear of the house.
Built in 1913 for Lucy Virginia Davis Buckley, who lived here with her youngest daughter unti1 1923. It has been the home of two of Clifton's Mayors, W. Swem Elgin and James C. Chesley. Clifton's third elementary school (1895-1912) and the first h…
Destroyed during the Civil War
This Marker Presented in Memory of
Martha Elliott Saunders
By Her Children Otto Frank and Martha
The Edifice Became
The Anglican Church of the Ascen…
In Memory of
Minnie Minter Carter Saunders
A resident of Centreville area from 1884 to 1983. This building was constructed in 1937 using stone from Four Chimney House, also know as Grigsby House, believed to have been built by James Hardage La…
Longtime Clifton residents, the A.J. Kidwell family resided here beginning in 1890 for nearly 60 years. The town blacksmith, Kidwell was a prominent citizen and member of the first Town Council in 1902. He operated a smithy located in the now vaca…
Built by the Harris Family & later acquired by Thomas Moore of Williamsburg, is one of the two oldest houses in Clifton.
It is original in all detail & contains a sick room with it's outside entrance that was so common during that period.