Historical Marker Search

You searched for City|State|Country: , ny us

Showing results 1 to 10 of 93
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM2CK6_tower-avenue-grindstones_NY.html
Tower Avenue Grindstones. The grindstones lining this street were used by the early mills operating in the 1800's. The mills were located in the entire area of the falls on the La Chute River. They were salvaged by Vincent Strebe and erected in …
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM2CK4_riviere-de-la-chute_NY.html
Rivière de La Chute. At these lower falls stood the sawmill used in 1755 by the French to build Fort Carillon, and by the British in 1759 to build a fleet and the forts at Ticonderoga and Crown Point. Ticonderoga Historical Society …
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM2CK2_a-way-to-the-world_NY.html
A Way to the World. The La Chute River supplied more than power for the mills. It also connected to Lake Champlain and the wider world. People and goods traveled much more easily by water than by land, so the corridor formed by Lake Champlain, Lak…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM2CJM_1756-french-saw-mill-on-la-chute-river_NY.html
1756 French Saw Mill on La Chute River. In 1756 the French erected a mill on the river opposite this spot for sawing and preparing timbers used in Fort Carillon, renamed Fort Ticonderoga when captured by General Amherst in 1759. . . General Aber…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM2BFE_the-soldiers-monument_Crown-Point-NY.html
To the memory of the Brave volunteers of Crown Point, who gave their lives as a sacrifice for their country and humanity in suppression of the Great Rebellion of 1861-1865. This monument is erected by their grateful fellow citizen, C.F. Hammond
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM226O_the-1929-lake-champlain-bridge_Port-Henry-NY.html
Charles M. Spofford, an engineer of the Boston firm Fay, Spofford & Thorndike, designed the 1929 Lake Champlain Bridge. It was the first American highway bridge to employ a continuous truss design to create a curving transition between the deck ap…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM226M_meacham-house_Port-Henry-NY.html
Built in 1818 by Capt. William Meacham
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM226L_champ-sightings-in-bulwagga-bay-area_Port-Henry-NY.html
Samuel de Champlain 1609 [List of Sightings not transcribed] M. Mauth 7-7-90 [latest signing on sign]
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM225Y_lc-m-caboose_Port-Henry-NY.html
This caboose was built in 1946 at Fisher Hill Shop, Mineville N.Y. It is constructed from an iron ore car and weighs 16 tons. The Lake Champlain and Moriah Railroad used this caboose on the main line from Mineville to Port Henry to haul iron or…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM225W_cedar-point-house_Port-Henry-NY.html
Inn and restaurant serving iron ore industry workers, railway workers, travelers, and visiting officials early 1880s to ca. 1964
PAGE 1 OF 10