Historical Marker Search

You searched for City|State|Country: , ms us

Showing results 1 to 10 of 11
FrontAlthough Houston Stackhouse never became a major name in blues, he played key roles in Delta blues history as a sideman, mentor, and influence. A constant presence in Mississippi and Arkansas blues circles for several decades, he worked with …
Site of cotton & woolen mills set up, 1866, by J. M. Wesson. Burnt, 1873; rebuilt, expanded & operated by Col. Ed. Richardson & Capt. Wm. Oliver with 2,000 employees. Closed 1910 & dismantled 1919.
On December 9, 1914, the Trustees of Copiah-Lincoln Agricultural High School had its first meeting and opened its doors to students on September 6, 1915. This building was one of the first buildings constructed on a sixty-five acre tract of …
According to its cornerstone, this structure was "ereted 1889; destroyed by fire 1890; rebuilt 1893." Built in the Romanesque style of Wesson's Miss. Mills, it is now the Oswalt Youth & Com. Center.
Site of a hotel since 1864, this structure was built ca. 1877. Known originally as the Richardson House, the hotel was owned by Mississippi Mills, a once-flourishing textile mill founded by J.M. Wesson in 1864.
~Front~ The legendary bluesman Robert Johnson was born on the northern outskirts of Hazlehurst to Julia Majors and Noah Johnson, on May 8, 1911 (or possibly 1912). Johnson lived in Tunica County and in Memphis as a child, but in the early 1930s h…
Tommy Johnson (1896-November 1,1956) was one of the most influential blues artists in Mississippi in the 1920s and 1930s. He grew up in the Crystal Springs area, where he often performed with his brothers LeDell and Mager. His original songs, whic…
On August 5, 1942. a southbound train collided with a westbound bus, killing fifteen bus passengers and injuring many more. The Greyhound bus, traveling from New Orleans to Jackson, stopped at the east side of the Marion Avenue railroad crossing t…
Named for chief engineer of first Jackson - New Orleans railway. Last spike driven here on March 31, 1858. Town was raided by Grierson in 1863. Shipping point for cattle, truck crops, and lumber.
Mississippi State College for Women, first state supported college for women in the U.S. was founded in 1884 through the efforts of Mrs Peyton, a citizen of Hazelhurst.