Historical Marker Search

You searched for City|State|Country: , or us

Showing results 1 to 10 of 78
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM29MA_the-first-people_Lake-Oswego-OR.html
In Prehistoric Times Fifteen thousand years ago, the mouth of the Tualatin River was located at Like Oswego. The river's course changed when the cataclysmic Missoula floods poured down the Columbia Basin and inundated the Willamette Valley. The…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM29AC_iron-company-workers-cottage_Lake-Oswego-OR.html
This cottage is the last survivor of cottages built for workers in Oswego's iron industry. It was probably built in the late 1870s or early 1880s by Albert Clinefelter or Lucien Davidson, local carpenters who constructed many buildings for the iro…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM295S_george-rogers-house-1929_Lake-Oswego-OR.html
George M. Rogers purchased this lot in 1918 and lived in its existing small house until 1929, when he engaged Van Evera Bailey, a noted Portland architect, to design this unique Arts and Crafts/Mediterranean style residence. Exterior is distinguis…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM27FZ_the-durham-mill_Lake-Oswego-OR.html
On this site Oswego's first industry, a saw mill, was established in 1850 by Albert Alonzo Durham on this portion of his 637 acre Donation Land Grant which included "Old Town" and much of East Oswego. He advertised his new mill in the Oregonian's …
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM27ES_old-town_Lake-Oswego-OR.html
Albert Alonzo Durham filed the first donation land claim here in 1850, naming the place Oswego after his New York home town. In 1864 John Corse Trullinger bought Durham's sawmill on Sucker Creek, and in 1866 this 87-acre portion of land, Trullinge…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM26Z1_murphy-real-estate-building-1940_Lake-Oswego-OR.html
This Arts and Crafts style building was constructed in 1940 as the Murphy Real Estate office. It is one of a cluster of buildings on State Street designed by the prominent local architect, Richard Sundeleaf. The half-timbered architecture was inte…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM26QA_salamander_Lake-Oswego-OR.html
This mass of solidified iron from the hearth of the Oswego furnace is known as a 'Salamander'. It is named after a mythological amphibian that lived in fire. Salamanders often formed in the bottom of 19th Century iron furnaces and were removed, wi…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM26Q9_the-man-from-k-787-asx-601-700-ksix-returned-with-eels-to-feed-his-people_Lake-Oswego-OR.html
Ikanum are traditional stories. One such story from Victoria Howard of Grand Ronde is told about the area around Lake Oswego. The story tells of a particularly hostile winter, in which cold and starvation threatened the entire village of k̓a…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM26Q2_green-street_Lake-Oswego-OR.html
Henry Dodge Green and his brother John Green came to Oregon from New York in 1852. In partnership with H. C. Leonard, the Green brothers procured the gas and water franchises for the City of Portland. The cost of shipping cast-iron gas and water p…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM26PB_lakewood-school-1928_Lake-Oswego-OR.html
On this site in 1893, Oswego's first public school was built and served the hildren of the town until it was outgrown, and replaced in 1928 by this handsome Colonial Revival style structure. Originally called Oswego Grammar School, it was renamed …
PAGE 1 OF 8