You searched for City|State|Country: , pa us
Showing results 1 to 10 of 362
For over a century, the massive Homestead Steel Works defined the Pittsburgh Region as the steelmaking capital of the world. Opened in 1881 by a handful of industrialists eager to take part in the industrial boom, the Homestead Works flourished af…
E.V. Babcock - The Father of Allegheny County Parks
We have E.V. Babcock to thank for starting Allegheny County's remarkable park system. Edward Vose Babcock (1864-1948) was born and raised on a farm near Fulton, New York. He set out at …
An early Shawnee Indian village located at the site of present Tarentum. It was named for Pierre (Peter) Chartier, who had a trading post here from 1734 to 1743. He was the son of Martin Chartier, a French explorer. Several heavily traveled Indian…
Built in 1783 by Cpt. Robert Orr.
This was built in the town of Tarentum for protection of the traders.
At the time Tarentum was known as a resting area for hunters and traders.
The blockhouse had a trap door and no windows, just peep holes for…
In 1884, George Westinghouse drilled a natural gas well here on his estate, Solitude, now Westinghouse Park. When gas was struck, an uncontrolled geyser erupted for a week. Within two years, Westinghouse obtained over 30 patents for the distributi…
At or near this point, July 8, 1755. Major General Edward Braddock with his army camped on his military expedition against Fort Duquesne.
Here also, George Washington, who having taken ill at Bear Camp, Now Oakton Maryland, June 19, 1755, rejo…
Original site of a blockhouse built by area settlers as protection from Indians. The patent was acquired in 1788 by one of the builders, Adam Reburn and become known as "Fort Reburn." Reburn's 218¼ - acre homestead, "Galilee."…
Born near Harrisburg, Girty crossed cultural boundaries between native and white societies. He was captured and adopted by Seneca Indians in 1756. Upon his release, he settled here with his family. He worked as an interpreter for the British and A…
The Homewood Cemetery
This building marks the site of the hotel where Lafayette lodged from May 30 to June 1, 1825 on his tour as the nation's guest. The tavern was known as the Mansion House and was removed about 1838.