You searched for City|State|Country: , ny us
Page 5 of 22 — Showing results 41 to 50 of 216
Built as the Boardman & Gray Piano Factory in 1853,
it later became the Regent Shirt Factory, then the
offices of the Brandow Printing Co.
Named in memory of Mayor
John Townsend 1829-1830 and
1832. Prominent banker and
The Shakers stored milk in the creamery to keep it cool. Milk was brought from the barn in large milk cans, which were then kept cool in troughs filled by water diverted from the creek. Later the building was used as a hen house; now it is used fo…
This Meeting House, or Church, was built in 1848 to replace an earlier (1791) and much smaller Meeting House. It demonstrates many typical characteristics of Shaker architecture; double doors, one for men and one for women; a large meeting room wi…
By 1920, automobiles had become both necessary and fashionable. The Shakers never hesitated to adopt new technology that would make life easier and more efficient. They built this concrete garage for their Packard automobilies [sic].
Shaker Creek provided water for both the canning and laundry operations. The first laundry, done on December 12, 1859, used a steam powered washing machine. Albany County used the building for laundry until the mid 1980s. Today it is a workshop.
On this location was a large 3 1/2 sto[r]y stone building. Here Shaker Sisters did spinning, weaving, and sewing. Journal entries indicate that Sister Polly wove 3350 Shaker bonnets in this building.
The building was the only stone building razed…
The plants in this garden are some of the herbs used and sold by The Watervliet Shaker Community during the 1800's. The community grew large "Botanical/Physic" gardens and also gathered many wild herbs for use in their business of selling dried he…
The Dwelling House or "Bell House" contained a kitchen, large community dining rooms, and retiring rooms (bedrooms). At the height of this community, 100 Shakers lived in the main building and the 'T' shaped wing. On its roof in a cupola, hung a l…
This brick building was used by the ministry elders. Each member of the ministry had to perform daily manual labor such as shoe making or tailoring. Elder Chauncey Copeley a cabinet maker, worked in a wing added to the building in 1850. Originally…