You searched for City|State|Country: , sc us
Showing results 1 to 10 of 91
The Indian Head, a series of springs at the head of Goodland Swamp, long served as a landmark and watering place. Travelers along the Middle Road referenced it and it appears on colonial plats. In 1781 Loyalists under com…
For many years, the water trough was located behind the County Courthouse. The following are to be commended for their efforts in restoring and re-establishing the trough as its new location on South Boundary.
Aiken County Historical Commission…
A sesquicentennial memorial gift to the city of Aiken by the family of Thomas H. Williamson (1888-1962), former county treasurer, member of the Aiken County Historical Commission and direct descendant of this cabin's builder.
URS Corporation on the occasion of the City of Aiken's 175th year, graciously donated this symbolic representation of William Aiken Sr. (1779-1831), for whom the city was named in 1835. Aiken was an entrepreneur and president of the South Carolina…
In Memory of Those Who
Died in the Vietnam War
Adams, Dwayne Lonnie
Adams, Joseph Boyce
Barton, Jere A.
Callahan, Clifton Eugene
Clark, Allen Howell
Douse, James Louis
Gay, James Nathaniel
In this building on
October 31, 1898
the author Jeff Scott
began collecting notes for
the Southern novel
Beneath The Glass Door.
Due to unforeseen circumstances
the book was not completed until
much later. Out of the scenic
village of His…
Wagener, established after the Blackville, Alston, & Newberry RR built its line from Blackville to Seivern in 1887-88, was originally known as Guntersville or Gunter Crossroads. When incorporated in 1888 it was renamed for George A. Wagener (1846-…
The freshwater spring 1/2 mi. SE was used by prehistoric Indians. It was deeded to the town of Aiken in 1844 by William Perroneau Finley (1803-1876) and furnished Aiken drinking water throughout the 19th century. A regular stop on the stagecoach r…
Originally located in China Springs, near Aiken, and believed to have been built in the 1890's this schoolhouse was given to the Aiken County Historical Commission by Mrs. Guerin Hermann of Sandersville, Georgia in 1975.The one room schoolhouse pr…
This is the site of Camp Butler, a Confederate "camp of instruction"that operated from the spring tothe fall of 1861, in what was thenBarnwell District. New companies,organized as independent companies,or in state regiments, were senthere for trai…