You searched for City|State: yountville, ca
Showing results 1 to 10 of 14
George Yount, American frontiersman, was born in North Carolina in 1794. When he was 10 years old Yount moved with his family to Missouri and in 1831 he came to California. Yount received a large tract of land in the Napa Valley from the Mexican g…
On March 7, 1874, the map of Groeziner's addition to Yountville was filed and recorded. This plaque is on a portion of "the lot plotted by G. Groezinger as a flower garden." Therefore it is dedicated in his memory.
Yountville Firemen's Auxiliar…
This winery, once known as one of the finest cellars in the State, was erected by Mr. G. Groezinger in 1870. The winery stands on part of the original land grant made to Salvador Vallejo by the government of Mexico in 1838. Vintner Groezinger purc…
In 1870, the year in which the Groezinger Winery (now Vintage 1870) was built, these flags: the California Bear flag (note how much more primitive in design it is in contrast with the present day version) and the American flag (then with 37 stars)…
In Memory of
The Battle of Seven Pines
Fought May 30 1862
Seven Pines Circle No. 3
Ladies of the G.A.R.
Dedicated to the honor of the men who were mustered in San Francisco to serve in the companies A, E, F, L, and M of the 2nd Regiment, Massachusetts Volunteer Cavalry, 1862-1865.
Dedicated by Company A, "The California 100" re-enactors and Sam B…
Yount town site was established by George C. Yount in 1855 at the southern boundary of his Rancho Caymus encompassing Madison Street and the area north thereof. The original site contained four full and two partial blocks including six streets: Yo…
On this site in April, 1929, the County of Napa built Yountville's first fire house, with Homer Douglas serving as volunteer fire chief and Silvio Tonascia as assistant fire chief. The county provided a 1929 Fageol fire truck to be used by the You…
This bell cast in 1848, hung from 1854 until 1896 in the Pioneer Christian Church (Disciples of Christ). On demolition of the church, the bell was rescued by Senator C.L. LaRue. Presented by the Ellis McLanahan family, In the interest of local his…
Built in 1926 on land donated to the Catholic archbishop by the DeBenadetti Family. The hall opened April 17, 1926 and soon became the focal point of social life throughout the Valley.
In 1956 use of the hall was restricted to church functions…