You searched for City|State: sperryville, va
Showing results 1 to 10 of 10
The Piney River Technical Building is one of the few remaining structures that reveal the rich history of the Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) in Shenandoah National Park. Camp NP-12, also known as Camp Red Bird, was established on July 4, 1935. …
Civilian Conservation Corps
During the 1930's, this area
was the site of CCC Camp
NP-12, Company 1393, known
as the "Redbird Camp."
This building housed the medical office of Dr. William Amiss, whose brother Dr. Thomas Amiss practiced in Slate Mills and later in Page County. Together, the two men accomplished a medical achievement virtually unheard of during the Civil War.
Caroline Terry, known locally as "Sis-tah Cah-line" (1833-1941) was born a slave, perhaps in Southampton County, but spent most of her life in Rappahannock County. She later took the surname Terry. By 1846, Francis Millan of Culpeper had purchased…
(Upper Plaque):This propertyhas been place on theNational Registerof Historic Places(Lower Plaque):The Second of Two LotsOwned by John KigerThis Building Was A Blacksmith shop.Conestoga Wagons Were Made BehindThis Building Near The Thornton River.
(Upper Plaque):This Propertyhas been placed on theNational RegisterOf Historic Places(Lower Plaque):John B. Kigerwell known wheelrightlived in this unique log and stone houseand built Conestoga wagons on this sitein the 1830s. One of his wagons is…
F. T. Baptist Church was founded nearby as Ragged Mountain Church in 1778. According to tradition the congregation worshipped in a log structure at Sharp Rock until about 1802 before moving to the former F. T. Village by 1804 where it became known…
On 26 June 1862, President Abraham Lincoln appointed Maj. Gen. John Pope to command the Union army that operated in Virginia. The Corps led by Maj. Gen. Franz Sigel, who had recently replaced Maj. Gens. John C. Fr?mont, posted around Sperryville, …
Laid out by Francis Thornton, Jr., in 1817, Sperryville survives as an upper Piedmont crossroads village. In the early 19th century John Kiger built Conestoga wagons here. By the 1850s two turnpikes (Thornton's Gap and Sperryville & Rappahannock) …
Near this place an engagement took place between Robertson's brigade and the First Maine Cavalry, July 5, 1862.