Historical Marker Search

You searched for City|State: snow camp, nc

Showing results 1 to 10 of 13
Of log construction, used for worship and school, stood here. Deed for land recorded in 1834 states it adjoins old Mt. Hermon tract, which signifies a place of worship existed prior to this date. Feb. 27, 1834 annual Methodist Protestant Conferenc…
Micajah McPherson, a trustee of Freedom Hill Wesleyan Methodist Church and abolitionist, was lynched about a mile and a half southeast of here. Although there are different stories about his lynching, they agree that he was an innocent man lynched…
A mile south of here is the site of Freedom Hill Wesleyan Methodist Church, a simple frame building that measured 27 by 36 feet and was dedicated in March 1848. When local residents sent a plea for a minister to the Wesleyans in Ohio in 1847, the …
The Quakers (Society of Friends) were early anti-slavery supporters of the Underground Railroad. Once the war erupted and Alamance County residents chose sides, supporters of the Confederacy regarded the Friends as Unionists. Never attacked direct…
Settled by Quakers in 1749. Cornwallis camped in area after Battle of Guilford Courthouse and used home of Simon Dixon as headquarters.
Side 1:Cane Creek Friends Meeting Since 1751The first Cane Creek Meetinghouse stood about two miles east on land belonging to John Stanfield. The first of four meetinghouses on this site was built in 1764 on land given by William Marshall. The thi…
In Memory of the Whig and Tory Soldiers who died in the Battle of Lindley's Mill 14th D. 11 Mo. 1781 and were buried here and on the battlefield Erected 7th Day 10 Mo. 1979
A memorial to British troops who died in the Old Meeting House during Cornwallis encampment here on his retreat from Guilford Courthouse March 1781.Erected by Troop 46 B.S.A. Henry Overman Leader Who Died Before Completing It.
First Monthly Meeting of Friends in central North Carolina, 1751. Present building is on the original site.
Original frontier log dwelling built by Quaker John Allen III. House stood approximately 400 feet southeast. Housed five generations. Moved in 1965 to Alamance Battleground State Historic Site.