Historical Marker Search

You searched for City|State: romulus, ny

Showing results 1 to 10 of 17
Organized 1796 by Rev. Daniel Thatcher of Virginia This building erected 1838
This monument is dedicated to those men and women who served and trained at Sampson Air Force Base during the years 1950 to 1956 By the bond of men their flight is won [Sculpture] "Pitching Up" Dexter Benedict · Sculptor
This memorial is dedicated to those brave Sampson Navy Men who gave their lives fighting our enemies in action during World War Two. Our national organization of 6000 Sampson WW-2 Navy Veterans, we the survivors, dedicate this monument to their e…
Bolstered by the success of the air assaults during World War II, United States Air Force leaders aggressively pursued upgrading the air fleet to the latest jet-propulsion technology. The Leap to the Jet Age Two years after entering World War II…
At the onset of World War II, new naval stations were needed to train the numerous recruits expected to enlist. The area that is presently Sampson State Park was a desirable inland location for the station. It had sufficient level land situated ne…
On June 25, 1950, four years after the Navy left the Sampson Training Center and while it was home to Sampson College, Communist North Korea invaded its neighbor to the south, the Republic of Korea. At the time Lackland Air Force Base in San Anton…
The T-2 Buckeye first entered service in 1959 as a jet trainer for the U.S. Navy. This particular plane is the T-2C version, of which 231 planes were produced beginning in 1968. This aircraft is on loan from the National Naval Aviation Museum at …
Sampson State Park offers adventure for those who seek it. Within its 2,000 acres, the park provides visitors with opportunities to swim, boat, camp, hike, bicycle, picnic, sun bathe, hunt, cross-country ski, and snowmobile. Before this area was …
Site of Frisbie's Ferry a now extinct hamlet with store, mills, distillery, tavern, and ferry to Aurora, 1796.
Dean's Cove (Swah-Ya-Wa-Nah) Indian village destroyed by detachments from Sullivan's Army September 22, 1779.