You searched for City|State: plaquemine, la
Showing results 1 to 10 of 13
Plaquemine First United Methodist Church. . . Methodist circuit riders came out of Mississippi into this area soon after the Louisiana Purchase of 1803. A Union church building was erected in 1841 on what is now the parking lot of the present Me…
Bayou Sorrel Indian Mound is one of the most prominent in Atchafalaya Heritage Area.
Archaeological investigation in 1913 by Clarence Moore
include artifacts from Tchefuncte, Marksville, Baytown,
Coles Creek or Plaquemine Period. After the Floo…
Bayou Plaquemine was an important Mississippi River distributary that allowed for boat navigation throughout the Atchafalaya Basin. Travelers left the Mississippi via Bayou Plaquemine, moved west to the Atchafalaya, and then headed further inland …
The Gulf Intracoastal Waterway was designed primarily for commercial traffic but is also used by recreational boaters. It allows vessels and goods to travel more than 1,300 miles through safer waters inland from the Gulf of Mexico.Completed in 194…
Upon completion in 1909, The Plaquemine Lock was an engineering marvel thanks to the unique gravity of water flow system that operated the highest fresh water lock in the world.As a distributary of the Mississippi River and an inland route to the …
To her hero members who took part in the World War of 1917-1918. Henry Dardenne Killed In FranceDr. H.F. Vulliamy · Dr. A.A.Landry,M. Tullie · Joe Thibodeaux, W. Richard · Elmer Schuler,W.P. Obier · W.H. Hakenjo…
Created by a meander of the Mississippi River in approximately A.D.1300, this point of land has been known by many names - Manchac Point, Australia Point, Sardine Point and the "Cut Off." Settled by members of the Plaquemine Culture who bu…
On March 13, 1889, Rev. Robert Morrison established the Nazarene Baptist Church one and one half miles north of this site on Australia Point where the community of Morrisonville developed. Due to levee setbacks in 1921 residents relocated to Grace…
Le passage des Acadiens Pendant apres la de'portation de 1755 depuis le Canada jusqu'aux Attakapas de Sud-ouest.
Passageway of Acadians after deportation of 1755 from Canada to the Southwest Attakapas.
Built in 1847 by Dr. Edward Scratchley. Occupied as school by Marianite Sisters from 1859-1862 & 1865-1975. Occupied as Military Command by Union Army 1862-1865. Renovated by Lt. Governor and Mrs. Robert L. Freeman-1990