You searched for City|State: perth amboy, nj
Showing results 1 to 10 of 30
The site of ferry service to Staten Island from colonial times to 1963
Restored to the 1904 period in 1998
Joseph Vas, Mayor
Peter J. Jimenez, president
Joseph Misewicz Robert J. Sgromolo Frank M. Sinatra David A. Szalagyi
Kearny Cottage, in addition to being the home of United States Navy Commodore Lawrence Kearny, was also the home of his mother, Elizabeth Lawrence, who was a celebrated poet around the time of the Revolutionary War and afterward. She published her…
Lifelong home of Commodore Lawrence Kearny, the sailor diplomat responsible for initiating relations between the United States and China
Always known as "The Cottage". Listed on the National Register of Historic Places
Built about 1780. Home of Commodore Lawrence Kearny. His famous uncle, Captain James Lawrence also live here as a boy.
Kearny Cottage is a two-and-a-half story clapboard and shingle frame structure featuring a gabled "catslide" roof. The front porch is an addition from the Victorian era, newly restored. The original louvered shutters have been restored a…
Built n 1871, this was the first public school building in Perth Amboy. The original eight-room school, which was doubled in size in 1905, exemplifies the best class of public school building erected in New Jersey in the years after the Civil War.…
During the French and Indian War (1754-63) British troops were initially quartered (housed) in private residences. After a wave of protests from the colonists, the Provincial Assembly in 1758 authorized the construction of barracks, for 300 men ea…
Here lies the body ofThomas MundyPetersonfirst negro voter in the United Statesunder the fifteenth amendmentat an election held in Perth AmboyMarch 31, 1870.A devoted churchman and good citizen.Member of a committee to revise the city charter.Reci…
St. Peter's is the oldest EpiscopalParish in New Jersey.Some graveyard tombstones bear themarks of cannon shots fired by theBritish during the Revolution.Currently listed on the National Registerof Historic Places.
This building, erected in1867, contains the recordof the East JerseyProprietors, who boughtCarteret's lands in 1682.